Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 661 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#11
Hi All!

Sorry for bumping an old thread but searching through the forums and the internet weren't succesful for my specific problem.

I'm trying to write a maemo5 hildon home widget in python according to the wiki. My problem is that when I run it from terminal it behaves as expected but when I add it from the desktop menu (with desktop file in /usr/share/applications/hildon-home/ and .py file in /usr/lib/hildon-desktop/) it doesn't behaves right (does not do the refreshing and showing the infos right)...

(It is a simple weather widget, refreshing connected to wifi connection dbus signal)

What am I doing wrong...? Maybe someone could point me to the right direction...?

Thanks,

jm
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,037 | Thanked: 12,671 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#12
wrong dbus session?
__________________
Never fear. I is here.

720p video support on N900,SmartReflex on N900,Keyboard and mouse support on N900
Nothing is impossible - Stable thumb2 on n900

Community SSU developer
kernel-power developer and maintainer

 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 661 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#13
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
wrong dbus session?
Thanks for the answer.
I do not think that dbus session is wrong because the script is working fine when I run it from terminal... (I use com.nokia.wlancond)

(Sidenote: I'm aware of the fact that a python hildon home widget needs "speciel treatment" when using dbus signal - I made those modifications too... )
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 578 | Thanked: 1,593 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#14
Maybe try to put run-standalone.sh infront of the command.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 661 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#15
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Maybe try to put run-standalone.sh infront of the command.
... to where...
The .desktop file contains only an "X-Path" row where I have to write - let's say - "weather.py" (maybe that is the place you think I should write "run-standalone"?). So my main problem is that it does not want to do the refreshing properly when added from hildon desktop menu.

From terminal it is working fine...

Edit:// Maybe I should upload the given stuff; as soon as I get home I will do that...

Last edited by justmemory; 2018-07-02 at 10:20.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,149 | Thanked: 2,784 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#16
Could it be path related?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Android_808 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 661 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#17
Originally Posted by Android_808 View Post
Could it be path related?
You mean python path...? I do not know... For hildon home widgets the desktop file should point to the corresponding "module" which has to be in /usr/lib/hildon-desktop/...
In the script I use "#!/usr/bin/env python" so I can execute it easier (shorter command) but it is not in the wiki... maybe I should delete that line and see if it is the path that causing issues... I cannot imagine how that could be an issue though...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Community Council | Posts: 581 | Thanked: 913 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Mbabane
#18
is it foss? posting your code might lead to easier help
__________________
N900 projects I support:
Maemo Leste
CSSU Devel
Fremantle Porting Task Force projects, e.g. openssl, microb
PostmarketOS
Neo900, and of course,
the Maemo Community eingetragener Verein
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sicelo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 661 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#19
As I wrote earlier - and sicelo was right on that - I attached the whole stuff maybe some could give a hint...
Attached Files
File Type: gz weather-home-widget.tar.gz (4.1 KB, 22 views)
File Type: gz fonts.tar.gz (51.7 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by justmemory; 2018-07-02 at 17:51.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,392 | Thanked: 6,459 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#20
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
wrong dbus session?
I have no idea but freemangordon definitely has
There are two different dbus sessions. One for user and one for root.
Executing from terminal: as user or as root?
Try the other one and see if it still works...
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
development, fremantle, maemo 5, n900, src

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:12.