Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#1
If I try this:

touch foo
mv foo foobar
mv foobar Foo

the file I end up with is foo, not Foo. How, or, more importantly, why does Busybox seem to remember the original capitalization for foo, and why does it impose it?
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
pycage's Avatar
Posts: 3,404 | Thanked: 4,474 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Germany
#2
Are you doing this on the MyDocs partition?
That is a Windows FAT32-formatted partition (so that it can be exported to any computer you connect the device to) and does not support case-sensitivity.
__________________
Tidings - RSS and Podcast aggregator for Jolla - https://github.com/pycage/tidings
Cargo Dock - file/cloud manager for Jolla - https://github.com/pycage/cargodock
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pycage For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#3
@chill
Yes?
I remember such weird behaviour on Windows using Win Explorer itself.
But not on device using term/sh/busybox itself.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,445 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#4
Just tried it.
Code:
~ $ touch foo
~ $ ls
MyDocs           cuteTube         foo
Panorama_thumbs  distance.debug   fuelpad.db
Xorg.0.log       edicom-examples  scripts
apps             edicom.sh
~ $ mv foo bar
~ $ mv bar Foo
~ $ ls
Foo              apps             edicom.sh
MyDocs           cuteTube         fuelpad.db
Panorama_thumbs  distance.debug   scripts
Xorg.0.log       edicom-examples
~ $
However, the case is preserved as per chill's post if I try the same in MyDocs.
__________________
Русский военный корабль, иди нахуй!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,118 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#5
Just tried it again. And ...
... oops. Tested it on N9. And there everything works as it should (also on MyDocs).

Will have to check on my N900 later .....

--
Yes, it is like chill said. On MyDocs on Fremantle case sensitivity acts weird.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2014-05-10 at 10:58.
 
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 221 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#6
Originally Posted by pycage View Post
Are you doing this on the MyDocs partition?
That is a Windows FAT32-formatted partition (so that it can be exported to any computer you connect the device to) and does not support case-sensitivity.
Yeah I was doing it on my /media/mmc1, which is FAT32. But it's not that it doesn't support case sensitivity, it supports it in a weird way:

Code:
/media/mmc1 $ touch fOo
/media/mmc1 $ ls f*
fOo
/media/mmc1 $ mv fOo foobar
/media/mmc1 $ ls f*     
foobar
/media/mmc1 $ mv foobar foo
/media/mmc1 $ ls f*
fOo
/media/mmc1 $
So, as pichlo noted, it somehow "preserves" case. Why does it do that? I've not seen it elsewhere on *nix shells.
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.
 
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
#7
@Pichlo tested in /home/user represented by ~ in the terminal prompt for the location/folder. /media/mmc1 is also vfat formatted. You could evaluate the file systems with the command
Code:
mount
 
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,445 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#8
I tested both in /home/user and in /home/user/MyDocs. I only published the former as the latter matched chill's experience.

I suspect some kind of caching issue. I do not believe it is busybox's fault, I assume it has more to do with the kernel and its FAT/FAT32 support. My first guess would be that the FS somehow caches the names. It might be interesting to figure out if there is a timeout or another way to reset it. I tried very briefly cd to another folder and back before the last mv but it did not make a difference. I also tried closing and reopening the terminal and that did not make a difference either, confirming my suspicion that busybox is probably innocent.
__________________
Русский военный корабль, иди нахуй!
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:45.