I have just bought new microSD 32GB fast card. I want to store data on it (music etc.) and to use it as swap (2 extra partitions probably are needed). I have read that this significantly improves device performance. I know that this issue was explained many times, but I am a rookie. So can anybody write me, step by step, how to configure my microSD card for my needs? I will be very grateful.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to NotMicro For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,102 | Thanked: 1,937 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Berlin, Germany
If your device is working fine (magnet et al.), simply open the built in file manager, long click on the icon for the external card and choose to format the card.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to michaaa62 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6,445 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
He wants to use the card as swap as well. Formatting from File Manager won't do that.
There are many ways to skin this cat. Have you seen the wiki page?
You can of course use parted on the device but a more newbie-friendly option is use GParted to partition your SD card to your liking. If you do not have a Linux machine, no problem. Just download a live CD and boot it on any machine that allows booting from a CD. You may need to enable that in the BIOS first.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by pichlo View Post
He wants to use the card as swap as well. Formatting from File Manager won't do that.
There are many ways to skin this cat. Have you seen the wiki page?
You can of course use parted on the device but a more newbie-friendly option is use GParted to partition your SD card to your liking. If you do not have a Linux machine, no problem. Just download a live CD and boot it on any machine that allows booting from a CD. You may need to enable that in the BIOS first.