I'm very interested in getting an n810, but I've heard no discussion of word processing on the n810. I'm a professional writer and need to be able to write and edit text, and don't want to be limited to the extremely narrow screen the Palm emulator provides. If there any program for the n810 that allows reading, writing, and editing of .txt, .rtf, and .doc (Word) files. I don't need spreadsheets, databases, tables (although tables would be nice) or pictures, just basic word processing. Is this possible now or is it likely to be possible soon?

I recall seeing an entry (with screenshots) on the Planet Maemo RSS feed that Abiword was ported to the OS 2008 fairly easily. I would expect an official release soon.

You can also use Google Docs if you are online. The word processor seems OK, but the spreadsheet doesnt work for me.

Originally Posted by Rocketman View Post
I recall seeing an entry (with screenshots) on the Planet Maemo RSS feed that Abiword was ported to the OS 2008 fairly easily. I would expect an official release soon.
Thanks for the info. I've seen reviews and screenshots of abiword and it looks absolutely perfect for my needs. My only worry is that I've seen some discussion of abiword being unstable and otherwise problematic on the n800. Hopefully, it will work considerably better in OS 2008.

Last edited by heron61; 2007-11-18 at 10:13.

Posts: 332 | Thanked: 76 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago
I use my n800 for note taking all the time. I use leafpad. At first it was annoying not to have lots of formatting options, but after a while it became a good thing.

I keep all my notes in txt files. That way, I can read them on the n800, linux, windows. Plus the files are as small as possible can be.
  • two magic OTG USB adapters
  • crossed fingers

Posts: 204 | Thanked: 15 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Berlin, Germany
Originally Posted by dormant View Post