I wrote a complete noobie guide for booting the Nokia 770 from MMC since I never found one while doing my own research. Please check it for correctness.

-----------------
REV.2:
1. Removed reboot commands for formatting in step 8 per fanoush's suggestion.
2. Revised explanation of EXT3.
3. Linked WLAN hotfix to thread on the topic.
-----------------

This guide will take you step-by-step through hacking your Nokia 770 to make it better and faster. I had a hard time finding all the information I needed to hack my 770 in one place. Instructions I found were also meant more for seasoned developers and Linux-savvy people. So I decided to write my own guide, for the complete noob!

The Plan:
1. Patch the operating system to fix a bug that can corrupt data and cause crashes.
2. Partition the RS-MMC into a Linux partition for the OS and a Windows compatible partition to access the card via USB.
3. Clone the operating system from the internal flash memory to the RS-MMC memory card. This will increase the space available to install program and slightly increase the speed as well. At the same time, the original operating system on the internal memory will be kept intact for backup or recovery mode if the memory card dies.

fanoush says: cloning without using kernel with faster mmc wil not give massive speedups, it will take off some load from CPU due to no jffs2 compression and may make your device more responsive under load but the average read/write speed is about the same (slow mmc vs compressed jffs2). So yes it may speed it up a bit but not significantly so...

4. Install a boot screen to allow you to choose which operating system (OS) to load - the original OS backup on the internal memory, or the OS on the RS-MMC memory card.

// to be added later...
5. Install hack that will increase read/write speed on the memory card which will increase the speed of your 770.

Warning:
1. This guide is a work-in-progress. It has not been thoroughly checked yet.