I am a new developer. I don't know how to port my program to N800 and let it run. I can compile my program and run it in the virtual machine ubuntu. But I don't know how to connect N800 with my computer. Also, if I can connect it, which files should I send to N800 and do I need to install anything on N800 for running the program?

Please kindly help me. I need to do some demonstration for my boss soon.

I believe this is covered in this training from Nokia!?

Thank you for your quick reply. I have read your reference.

I still have some problems. After I used this command dpkg-buildpackage -rfakeroot to create the debian package, which files should be copied to the N800?

And also after I use the USB cable to connect the N800 to my PC, I don't know how to copy the package into the mounted device. What does the mounted device mean? And how can I copy the debian package to N800? Does it just copy the package to a standard directory? And after I copied successfully, where can I find the package in N800?

Please help. Thank you.

Posts: 643 | Thanked: 628 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Seattle (or thereabouts)
Originally Posted by hungiu View Post
I still have some problems. After I used this command dpkg-buildpackage -rfakeroot to create the debian package, which files should be copied to the N800?
In the directory above the one where you ran "dpkg-buildpackage -rfakeroot" a file named something like "your-program-1.0-1_armel.deb" will be created. That is the file to transfer.
And also after I use the USB cable to connect the N800 to my PC, I don't know how to copy the package into the mounted device. What does the mounted device mean? And how can I copy the debian package to N8000?
When you plug the N800 into your computer it should appear to the computer as a card reader. Just copy the file to it. Note: you will need to put an SD card in your N800 to use this method.