Notices

Posts: 30 | Thanked: 3 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Connecticut, USA
I'm going to attempt to go off the previous applet created that was posted here a few weeks ago. Before I try (considering I have very little programming knowledge), is this worth creating and how many others would be willing to use it? I'm wanting to do the half-n-half with bluetooth and connection settings.

I typically have between my headset and my husband's phone, and our wireless network both on my screen. And with Pidgin and the clock applet, I'm out of space. So would anyone else use this? Is it even possible for me to create this and it work sensibly?

Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
I'm certain plenty will find it useful, I think the problem lies more with getting it up and running. I believe both the Bluetooth and the Connection applets are closed source at the moment, so you're going to have to work out how they do their magic.

One request if you do push forward with this is to make the icon reflect signal level for wifi networks.

The Following User Says Thank You to GeneralAntilles For This Useful Post:
Posts: 475 | Thanked: 771 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
General has a good point about the two statusbar plugins you are aiming at being closed source (or at least source-not-readily-available). I ran into this problem trying to use the alarm interface world clock uses (no-source-available). Fortunately, the functionality wasn't too complicate and I was able to duplicate it without access to the code. I'm not sure this will be the case with your endeavor, though.