Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#1
Hi,
hi I'm very confused about the automatic mount of mmc cards. I have formatted as ext3 the internal 2 gb card of my n810. Now I want to mount this card automatically at boot time, in a new mount point /Root, and I added this row on fstab file:
Code:
/dev/mmcblk0p1 /Root ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,noatime 0 0
When I boot up the sistem, if I give a mount command to see active mounted partition, I noticed that fstab row is ignored, and I have always this mount active:
Code:
/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /media/mmc2 type ext3
This isn't in fstab...
Maybe this is mounted automatically from the program ke-recv? There is a way to avoid that system mount automatically the /dev/mmcblk0p1 on /media/mmc2?

Thx in advance,
Salgua

Last edited by salgua; 2008-03-20 at 16:36.
 
Posts: 191 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Ottawa
#2
The N800 does ignore fstab. I opened a bug a while ago on this, and was told that fstab was not flexible enough, so they have a script (osso-mmc-mount.sh) that runs when it detects the card is available.

I suppose you could hack the script to mount your card somewhere else. Or you could take a path of lesser resistance, and just simbolically link your /Root to /media/mmc2.

Hope this helps,

Craig...
__________________
N800, Think Outside Kbd, 8GB SDHC Card (OCZ, ext2), and 8GB SD Card (Patriot formatted as VFAT)
Zaurus SL-6000, IR Keyboard, 1GB SD Card
 

The Following User Says Thank You to cvmiller For This Useful Post:
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#3
Thx, I used a workaround using symlink.

Bye!
 
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Cambridge, UK
#4
is ext3 recommended for flash cards? I'm using ext2 as I seem to remember that the ext3 journal isn't ideal for flash.

edit: and i use "noatime", too...
 
Bundyo's Avatar
Posts: 4,501 | Thanked: 3,855 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
#5
ext3 + noatime + writeback is closest to ext2, but at least has automatic fsck.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Bundyo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Cambridge, UK
#6
interesting. and I can easily convert to ext3 by just adding a journal to my ext2 fs. I might just do that, ta.
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#7
Flash cards are better these days, but I did ordinary ext3 (with noatime) and the sectors where the journal were at ended getting errors (burnout?) after a few months with my zaurus a few years ago. I'd do jffs2 if you really need journaled files.
 
locusf's Avatar
Posts: 158 | Thanked: 314 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Helsinki, Finland
#8
Originally Posted by cvmiller View Post
The N800 does ignore fstab. I opened a bug a while ago on this, and was told that fstab was not flexible enough, so they have a script (osso-mmc-mount.sh) that runs when it detects the card is available.

I suppose you could hack the script to mount your card somewhere else. Or you could take a path of lesser resistance, and just simbolically link your /Root to /media/mmc2.

Hope this helps,

Craig...
Btw,

osso-mmc-mount.sh resides in /usr/sbin and can be edited to support both noatime & writeback. Just look for the ext3 part in the file and then just add after the
Code:
-t ext3
to look like this:

Code:
-t ext3 -o noatime,data=writeback
Hope that this helps as well
__________________
Regards,
LoCusF
http://locusf.blogspot.com
 
linuxrebel's Avatar
Posts: 182 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Silly-Con Valley
#9
I dunno if fstab isn't flexible enough to do ext3 someone needs to tell RH real quick.

The real problem as I see it is that the ext3 modules aren't loadable by default. Not only do you need to have this in aliases and/or /etc/modprobe.d. but you also need depmod to create the depmod library so these can be loaded during startup.

This sounds like an interesting problem. I know how to get depmod etc in place. (did it for some other things) sounds like it's time to have fun, and work this one out.
 
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Cambridge, UK
#10
the rpevious post explains why that isn't necessary: the script does it.

agreed that this is insane, and that they should be using fstab, but still, it works. I edited the script to add noatime for my ext2 partitions.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:57.