Active Topics

hello,

Maybe I'm wrong cuz im new to this thing, but instead of using a female A-Female A adapter to access usb host mode, can't you use two usb hubs instead?
I've been able to use usb control to switch to host mode, i have two hubs and when it is connected correctly, the light on my usb flashes up but when i open up filemanager i can't see it there
Any suggestions?

Thanks

Last edited by chinedu40; 2008-04-13 at 14:08.

The Following User Says Thank You to chinedu40 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 170 | Thanked: 40 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Norway
why would you see the hub in file manager? you have to connect something to the hub

im not aiming to see the hub in the filemanager, im aiming to see my usb memory stick which iz connected to one of the two hubs that im using. juz to reiterate my usb memory stick light is on when connected and the only thing that could be powering it is my N800, but i cannot see the usb memory stick in filemanager

Posts: 228 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Ontario & Iceland
If the hub is a powered hub then it should work. Don't try to power anything from the N8 port itself.

does it need to be a powered hub? if so why?

Posts: 228 | Thanked: 30 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ Ontario & Iceland
like I said in two of your posts, yes it needs to be powered, because the NIT doesn't supply power over USB and you wouldn't want it to, just use a powered hub. I haven't played much with it but it worked no problem using a powered hub.

wt equipment did u use 2 get it to work.....cuz i don't want 2 go and buy a powered hub only for it not to work