Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
timsamoff's Avatar
Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,597 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
#11
Originally Posted by silvermountain View Post
I got a raster/checkered pattern over the screen.
That doesn't necessarily mean that Fennec "froze" or "crashed" -- that's how undrawn regions of the webpage are displayed until the information can be downloaded. I'm not saying that you didn't, in fact, freeze (we are still talking about a Beta version of the application after all), but it could just be that either (a) there were server issues on the website end, or (b) there were issues on your internet connection end.

Tim
__________________
http://samoff.com
 
Bundyo's Avatar
Posts: 4,500 | Thanked: 3,848 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
#12
Originally Posted by timsamoff View Post
True. This will most likely be fixed. (And, actually, after opening it the first time, each subsequent launch was quicker.)
Like with introducing a browser daemon?

Originally Posted by timsamoff View Post
But it has pretty robust and smooth kinetic scrolling by dragging your finger.
As said many times, the scrollbar has double usage. And some people sometimes like to go from point A to point B faster.

Its not a bad browser UI, but its UX has some rough edges still.
__________________
Technically, there are three determinate states the cat could be in: Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.

Last edited by Bundyo; 2009-06-27 at 06:42.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Bundyo For This Useful Post:
sachin007's Avatar
Posts: 2,041 | Thanked: 1,066 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Houston
#13
The digi@web browser is way better than the fennec browser.

You guys should try it.
 
jperez2009's Avatar
Posts: 250 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on May 2009 @ Colorado
#14
The UI is nicer than in beta 1, it's faster and some pages are rendered perfectly, but even though it's coming along great, it still has a long way to go. Also, I agree with Tim on the install size...ouch!

Maybe some screenies for people that wanna see it before installing it?









EDIT: Sorry, my bad. Late last night + groggy = bad image links.

Jesse~

Last edited by jperez2009; 2009-06-27 at 15:57.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jperez2009 For This Useful Post:
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,356 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#15
Originally Posted by timsamoff View Post
P.S. Is there a reason why Mozilla isn't going through the Extas-Devel process like everyone else has to?

Tim
The autobuilder wont build it. The current version that is in Extras currently is there due to X-Fade uploading it directly into free.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
luca's Avatar
Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
#16
Originally Posted by Bundyo View Post
Like with introducing a browser daemon?
Vade retro satana
 
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,781 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#17
Originally Posted by sachin007 View Post
The digi@web browser is way better than the fennec browser.

You guys should try it.
Pretty simular... and both are resource hogs.

I like how Fennec has an application launcher that provides options. It comes in handy when you encounter various video formats as you surf.

The on screen keyboard pops up and moves out of the way fine using my N800 however, the "Copy"/"Paste" menu pops up behind the keyboard and it obscures those buttons...

Both Fennec and the digi@web browser still need plenty of work, only one will eventually be FOS though.

EDIT: A copy/paste work around is to tap and hold in the addy bar until the menu pops up.

ALSO: I just found that Fennec runs locally stored flash (swf files). For me, digi@web went into a download loop whenever I tried to run locally stored flash.

Last edited by YoDude; 2009-06-27 at 14:53.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to YoDude For This Useful Post:
YoDude's Avatar
Posts: 2,869 | Thanked: 1,781 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Po' Bo'. PA
#18
Originally Posted by jperez2009 View Post
The UI is nicer than in beta 1, it's faster and some pages are rendered perfectly, but even though it's coming along great, it still has a long way to go. Also, I agree with Tim on the install size...ouch!

Maybe some screenies for people that wanna see it before installing it?









Jesse~
Screenies are not showing up for me... Try these.
Attached Images
     
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to YoDude For This Useful Post:
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jan 2009
#19
Just for the sake of curiosity does anyone else have issues with typing in numbers? I'm using the latest version with a N810 and whenever I try to type the numbers in my password it doesn't register them correctly, I have to copy and paste them over from the notes app, does anyone else have this problem?
 
jperez2009's Avatar
Posts: 250 | Thanked: 122 times | Joined on May 2009 @ Colorado
#20
Updated my post. Sorry about the bad image links. It was late and I was tired and not on my PC.

Jesse~
 
Reply

Tags
beta, browser, fennec, maemo, release

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28.