Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 17 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#1
Well, I just port that. Still not optimize the UI for maemo.
I want to make sure there's no existing port yet. Or it's wasting my time.

It's really fast on my N810. Even much much faster than Tear. But you know, it just support css not long ago, so it should compares to links, lynx, w3m. The better thing is it's not running in the terminal.
Attached Images
 
 

The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to firstfan For This Useful Post:
gogol's Avatar
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 57 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Washington State, USA
#2
Wow this is awesome! Dillo is great, I used to use it all the time when I had a (much) slower machine. Good for basic web browsing for sure! Are you going to host your port somewhere? Or could I request you stick it on a free hosting service so I could get it?
__________________
~Nokia n810 OS Diablo 5.2008.43-7~ my (old 770) hax: http://770hax.today.com
 
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 575 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#3
I'm not going to say what I thought the title of this thread was at first glance...
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 
Posts: 17 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Jul 2009
#4
Originally Posted by gogol View Post
Wow this is awesome! Dillo is great, I used to use it all the time when I had a (much) slower machine. Good for basic web browsing for sure! Are you going to host your port somewhere? Or could I request you stick it on a free hosting service so I could get it?
Install libfltk2 first.
http://www.evan129.com/download/19/
http://www.evan129.com/download/20/

Well, I just packaged it up in deb format. After had a look at the code, I found it's hard to change to maemo style.
Currently, the fullscreen key doesn't work. The "Enter" key doesn't work. After input the web address in the url field, you need to press the center key, the one in the up, down, left, right keys.
And, it seems that only English or your locale pages can be displayed currently. The worst thing is the virtual keyboard doesn't work. Anyway, it works just ok on my N810 with hard keyboard.
Dillo doesn't have lots of menus. To change the preferences/settings, you need to copy the diallorc file to ~/.dillo. You can have a look at http://www.dillo.org/dillo2-help.html and http://www.dillo.org/FAQ.html.

Last edited by firstfan; 2009-07-30 at 09:49.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to firstfan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 17 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jun 2009
#5
i have installed dillo.
there are 3 bugs here:
1. not full screen.
2. not utf-8 code
 
Posts: 118 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on May 2007
#6
Consistently crashes after about two minutes for me. The effort is much appreciated, though. And trying this version inspired me to install the version of Dillo available through Easy Debian. It's older but (in my limited experience) much more stable.
 
gogol's Avatar
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 57 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ Washington State, USA
#7
Perhaps someone will come along and Hildonize it. That's super cool of you to do what you did firstfan, I for one say thanks
__________________
~Nokia n810 OS Diablo 5.2008.43-7~ my (old 770) hax: http://770hax.today.com
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,271 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#8
Hey, last I'd seen, Dillo development was pretty much stalled. Looks like it's rolling pretty well now; I'll have to try it out again. Thanks for the port!
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,148 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#9
Dillo is cool; I'd love to see a fully usable tablet version.
 
Posts: 59 | Thanked: 9 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Lisbon, Portugal
#10
Me likey! I use it on the desktop (and laptop) as well, when all I want is to display simple pages quicker, so this fits the bill. I just edited the bookmarks file, changed the preferences to save screen real estate and I'm all set.

It won't be easy to hildonize, though
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56.