Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#1
Nokian900 users, All of a sudden my Yahoo messenger does not sign in, I tried to mess with it for a while but to no avail. even on my Pidgin internet I can not get it to connect. I still can use Skype and MSN Haze but no longer messenger. I used to use it alot to communicate with my people. does anyone know how to get this back to work on my Nokia n900. I would really appreciate any help. Thanks in advance folks!!
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#2
wow i thought it was just me but i can't sign as well !
 
Posts: 2,125 | Thanked: 3,397 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#3
I don't regularly use yahoo messenger, but I'll test this if the opportunity comes. A while back Google (on Gmail specifically) and Facebook both did things where they redirected you to mobile versions of their sites from the N900 - they both stopped soon after, but still. The N900's Yahoo Messenger client may now be being treated the same way by Yahoo, expect in a completely "ignore"/"don't accept connections from it" way instead of mere redirecting. The N900 user-base is certainly perceived as being small enough by the general public for them to conceivably to be dicks like that.

I would get as many people as you can to check from N900s. See if you can connect through WiFi and 3G, or if both give the same error. Then see if you can connect to it through the browser directly (surely yahoo messenger has an online version you can use). Report results. If they are consistent across many users, or become consistent over the next week or so, then it's Yahoo's doing. If not, it's something on your end, or in between, or a temporary problem there.
 
Posts: 321 | Thanked: 96 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#4
Originally Posted by Mentalist Traceur View Post
I don't regularly use yahoo messenger, but I'll test this if the opportunity comes. A while back Google (on Gmail specifically) and Facebook both did things where they redirected you to mobile versions of their sites from the N900 - they both stopped soon after, but still. The N900's Yahoo Messenger client may now be being treated the same way by Yahoo, expect in a completely "ignore"/"don't accept connections from it" way instead of mere redirecting. The N900 user-base is certainly perceived as being small enough by the general public for them to conceivably to be dicks like that.

I would get as many people as you can to check from N900s. See if you can connect through WiFi and 3G, or if both give the same error. Then see if you can connect to it through the browser directly (surely yahoo messenger has an online version you can use). Report results. If they are consistent across many users, or become consistent over the next week or so, then it's Yahoo's doing. If not, it's something on your end, or in between, or a temporary problem there.

Using pidgin works fine with wifi at my home. I read this thread and fire up pidgin and it works. so try again maybe there is a problem with yahoo.
 
Schturman's Avatar
Posts: 4,660 | Thanked: 3,140 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Israel
#5
I'm use the "Pidgin plugin for Conversation and Contacts", yahoo work perfectly. Sometimes I need check port 80...
__________________
Lausanne & Lyon de descente...
----------------
Schturman's home page
Schturman's repo on openrepos
N9 QuickTweak - If you like my work, you can donate here. Thanks!
Facebook chat fix for N9/50 (thanks to mbanck) - FB fixed itself (no need this anymore) .
DEB packages creator for N9/50 (create your packages on the phone).
IMAGE Converter for N9/50 (convert/resize your images on the phone).
 
Posts: 109 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on May 2010
#6
i can sign in alright..i even got a request for authorization to chat. the status is fine but i can't see any of my contacts online...

update: it's working fine now..back to normal.

Last edited by bertolt; 10-06-2010 at 03:24 AM.
 
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#7
Originally Posted by bertolt View Post
i can sign in alright..i even got a request for authorization to chat. the status is fine but i can't see any of my contacts online...

update: it's working fine now..back to normal.
Can you please specify the settings you have the Yahoo messenger on. I am still having issues signin in. using browser isnt that convenient.
 
Posts: 7 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#8
Now the big disaster is that, when I go back to app manager>>Download>>Netwrok. I can not find the app Pidgin protocols plugin for conversations and contacts, it disappeared from there. I was tryinf to uninstall and reinstall, but I guess I just screwed real bad now. anyone knows why I am missing the app?
 
Posts: 20 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#9
Originally Posted by Koukkouche View Post
Now the big disaster is that, when I go back to app manager>>Download>>Netwrok. I can not find the app Pidgin protocols plugin for conversations and contacts, it disappeared from there. I was tryinf to uninstall and reinstall, but I guess I just screwed real bad now. anyone knows why I am missing the app?
well thats coz u have already installed the app....evrytym u install an app it doesnt show coz its lyk u hv borrowed the app...bt then if u want to see ur app again then u need 2 UNINSTALL it...nd then u will find it again... it happens with all the apps...

Last edited by Soham; 11-14-2010 at 04:03 PM.
 
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#10
i got the same problem with my ym not signing in. im living in the USA. is the problem regional? i was able to sign in with ym last month but not anymore. might be because i installed pidgin? is there any solution yet? please help.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:46 PM.