Notices

Posts: 248 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Birmingham
Firstly sorry if this post is in the wrong place, but I am brand new to this.

I have seen a snapshot of Open Office running on the N900 and was wondering how this was done? I will be getting my N900 in October and would like to figure out how to get this working before then. Any help or a point in the right direction would be greatly appreiated.

Thanks.

The Following User Says Thank You to davedickson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,142 | Thanked: 2,054 times | Joined on Dec 2006 @ Sicily
You can already understand the process by reading some of the threads concerning "easy debian".
Then Qole will release a version optimized for Maemo 5, even if we already know (as he reported) that the available version already works.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to debernardis For This Useful Post:
Then Qole will release a version optimized for Maemo 5
Will this version be withing easy debian or will it run "native" on the device?

Is the easy debian install the best way to go if all i want is open office or similar??

Firstly, I am not entirely sure of the details about where/how it installs, is this installation completely on the mircoSD card, or will it use up space on the device as well??

Is it better for me to wait till there is an version of open office actually for Maemo/N900 which I can install from Extras or equivalent third party, or is this easy debian the only way I can it on the device?

Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
It seems to me that it is very very unlikely that there will ever be a native version of OpenOffice for Maemo. There has been Nokia-sponsored work to get KOffice ported to Maemo, and so far they've (claimed that they've) only managed to get a viewer working, and they haven't even put that into the repositories. So I don't see the much more complicated OpenOffice becoming available.