Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 891 | Thanked: 491 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ UK
#1
As soon as I arrived abroad, the N900 asked me if I want to use data while roaming, obvious choice was No.

Well, just checked my bill this morning, from the date and time, it was using bandwidth at around 8:30AM local time (while I'm still asleep) for 1103kb

Anyone else traveling abroad experience similar issue?
__________________
Follow me on Twitter
 
RevdKathy's Avatar
Posts: 2,173 | Thanked: 2,665 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Cornwall, UK
#2
I hope not. I've yet to receive the bill for the weekend in Barcelona. If n900 can't keep its paws off the internet when so instructed I'll be back to taking my trusty n95 on holidays.
__________________
Hi! I'm Kathy and I'm a Maemo Greeter! Welcome.
Useful links for newcomers: New members say hello , New users start here, Community subforum, Beginners' wiki page, Maemo5 101, Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Did you know Meego.com has forums too?
 
bandora's Avatar
Posts: 1,294 | Thanked: 934 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Michigan, USA / Jordan
#3
Some how it did connect to the roaming network.. I am assuming 3G right?.. Now was your N900 connected to 3G before your travel and wasn't rebooted? Maybe, it's like the wifi bug it doesn't really completely disconnect until you actually reboot? Idk.. My suggestion might sound really dumb.. lol

And no, I have not experienced this issue at all.
 
Posts: 377 | Thanked: 68 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#4
Always ask is ur friend
 
Posts: 266 | Thanked: 83 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
I know many phones that has the same problem.
ROAMING OFF but it still uses a little data.
Android has got an app that will change the APN.

So what i do when i travel is remove the Access Point.

Eikido
 
Posts: 100 | Thanked: 17 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#6
Would like to propose an idea to disable roaming like you can for the iPhone, or a hard disable of the wifi/gprs. Even sometimes when i dont want to go online to preserve battery, if you accidentally click on the browser it loads up all the internet and stuff. Sure you can disable but it just takes that extra step!
 
Posts: 3,841 | Thanked: 1,074 times | Joined on Nov 2006
#7
Yes, this should be addressed. It's bad enough that the thing goes and updates the application list (apt-get update under the hood) while on GSM, without asking. I need to keep thight control of data transfer.
__________________
N800/OS2007|N900/Maemo5
-- Metalayer-crawler delenda est.
-- Current state: Fed up with everything MeeGo.
 
ossipena's Avatar
Posts: 3,159 | Thanked: 2,020 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Finland
#8
what about calling your operator and put roaming block to data transfer?

doesn't justify the operation of the device but reduces amount of stress concerning data roaming because it is technically impossible to roam in 3g for example if you forget to put your device to offline-mode...
__________________
Want to know something?
K.I.S.S. approach:
wiki category:beginners. Browse it through and you'll be much wiser!
If the link doesn't help, just use
Google Custom Search
 
Jaffa's Avatar
Posts: 2,531 | Thanked: 6,638 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ UK
#9
I've been travelling a lot with my N900 and this hasn't happened to me. Of course, things like geolocation in Camera asking for a connection when I just want to take a photo is annoying; but no auto-data connections when it's been denied.
__________________
Andrew Flegg -- mailto:andrew@bleb.org | http://www.bleb.org
 
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#10
I'm a new N900 owner and I'd like to ask if there is now a way to disable all data use while roaming, as the first poster was asking?

I'm not very familiar with all the network settings, and I'm just looking for the easiest solution. Calling my network before each trip would be annoying!

thanks guys
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:28.