Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 547 | Thanked: 1,379 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Stockholm, Sweden
#1
fAPN is a graphical front end for adding a new GPRS APN which you then can edit in Settings -> Internet Connections - for example to have a separate APN for MMS or corporate access.

I've uploaded fAPN version 0.5 to extras-testing and would like to have some testers (and voters! ).

http://maemo.org/packages/view/fapn/

Thanks for reading!

http://mms.frals.se/fapn.html


KNOWN PROBLEMS:
__________________

Problem with fMMS? Run in x-terminal: cp /tmp/fmms.log /home/user/MyDocs/
After that you'll see fmms.log in filemanager or when you connect the device to your desktop as a mass storage device.
E-mail the log to me, if you don't have the email address, drop me a PM. Thanks!

fMMS - MMS for your N900
fAPN - GUI for adding a new GPRS APN
If you like this post, don't be shy to thank me -->

Last edited by frals; 2010-01-12 at 16:33.
 

The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to frals For This Useful Post:
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 179 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#2
This is very good application.

If you have made APN with X-terminal command so remove those also with X-terminal.

If you have changed the name with N900 settings so the name with removal must be the same original name as when you made the APN.

Thanks Frals
 

The Following User Says Thank You to koivjann For This Useful Post:
EIPI's Avatar
Posts: 794 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ /Canada/Ontario/GTA
#3
I did not realize that Maemo 5 took away the ability to specify more than one GPRS connection. I had 2 setup on my N800 (Maemo 4) when I used to tether to my phone (one apn for wap, and the other for full internet access)
__________________
Mobile Tablets Blog
Follow me on
Twitter

 
Posts: 226 | Thanked: 63 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Maldives
#4
Works great, I didn't know it wasn't easy to add new APNs until I tried, good thing "there is an APP for that" hehe
 
Posts: 55 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
Doesn't work for me !

With fAPN I could add a new APN but I couldn't find the new APN in the n900 settings - I'm looking for it in Internetconnections. Am I doing something wrong ?

My n900 is a german version with the actual firmware 44.1

Looking forward for any hints - Thanks!

Last edited by FormerPalmUser; 2010-01-12 at 11:23.
 
Posts: 547 | Thanked: 1,379 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Stockholm, Sweden
#6
Originally Posted by FormerPalmUser View Post
Doesn't work for me !

With fAPN I could add a new APN but I couldn't find the new APN in the n900 settings - I'm looking for it in Internetconnections. Am I doing something wrong ?

My n900 is a german version with the actual firmware 44.1

Looking forward for any hints - Thanks!
Could you PM (or email, link on my name above) me the output of:
gconftool-2 -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP with any sensitive data masked out (ie passwords)?

Thanks for testing!
__________________

Problem with fMMS? Run in x-terminal: cp /tmp/fmms.log /home/user/MyDocs/
After that you'll see fmms.log in filemanager or when you connect the device to your desktop as a mass storage device.
E-mail the log to me, if you don't have the email address, drop me a PM. Thanks!

fMMS - MMS for your N900
fAPN - GUI for adding a new GPRS APN
If you like this post, don't be shy to thank me -->
 
Posts: 55 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#7
Originally Posted by frals View Post
Could you PM (or email, link on my name above) me the output of:
gconftool-2 -R /system/osso/connectivity/IAP with any sensitive data masked out (ie passwords)?

Thanks for testing!
Done!

Thanks for programming !

UPDATE:
without dots in the Name of the APN it's working great!

Last edited by FormerPalmUser; 2010-01-12 at 13:57.
 
Posts: 547 | Thanked: 1,379 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Stockholm, Sweden
#8
The "dots in name" issue has been resolved in 0.5 which is working its way to -testing right now
__________________

Problem with fMMS? Run in x-terminal: cp /tmp/fmms.log /home/user/MyDocs/
After that you'll see fmms.log in filemanager or when you connect the device to your desktop as a mass storage device.
E-mail the log to me, if you don't have the email address, drop me a PM. Thanks!

fMMS - MMS for your N900
fAPN - GUI for adding a new GPRS APN
If you like this post, don't be shy to thank me -->
 
Posts: 547 | Thanked: 1,379 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Stockholm, Sweden
#9
Would *love* 4 more testers (preferably voters ) as the 10 day quarantine is soon over.

http://maemo.org/packages/package_in...armel/fapn/0.5
__________________

Problem with fMMS? Run in x-terminal: cp /tmp/fmms.log /home/user/MyDocs/
After that you'll see fmms.log in filemanager or when you connect the device to your desktop as a mass storage device.
E-mail the log to me, if you don't have the email address, drop me a PM. Thanks!

fMMS - MMS for your N900
fAPN - GUI for adding a new GPRS APN
If you like this post, don't be shy to thank me -->
 
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 103 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ switzerland
#10
Is there any way to affect the priority of the access points? (I tried dumping the gconf settings and googling for documentation, but couldn't find anything helpful.)

My problem is that every time I leave my wifi network, the n900 picks up my Orange MMS APN instead of Orange Internet (I have connect automatically set to any connection) and I cannot use that APN for anything else than MMS, obviously. So I have to keep manually selecting Orange Internet every time I leave the house or work (or wake up and find out that the phone had dropped out of wifi over night and switched to MMS apn).


It's even more annoying when I'm outside and I lose connection to the GPRS and the phone tries to connect to the MMS APN instead and after establishing a connection decides to stay on that and I'm completely unaware that I'm actually not "online" anymore.


Oh, and not even setting connect automatically to "Orange Internet" only helps! The phone still defaults to my MMS APN when establishing an automatic connection and wifi is not available.

I assume this has something to do with the fact that in /system/osso/connectivity/ui/auto_connect/65_gprs network types is set to [GPRS], so it just picks the first GPRS apn? But why would "Orange MMS" be higher up than "Orange Internet"... I don't understand the sorting method here. Unless if user added access points always rank higher.

(In which case I'll create a third apn myself and duplicate Orange Internet settings there )



EDIT: And it really is like that. An APN with user_added=1 ranks higher than a one without. So creating a third APN with the original Internet settings worked - it is now the default APN when no wifi is available.

Should I file a bug for this or is this known behaviour? Or maybe even the purpose of the user_added flag?

Last edited by ziller; 2010-01-23 at 23:55.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ziller For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:43.