Active Topics

Hi everybody;
I'm new to Maemo,i need to install deb files but it asks for password to get privilege access,i know there is no default password.I installed rootsh but don't how to do furthur operations.Besides i'm little confused installing DEB files.I've had the experience installing deb files on iphones but this seems little diffrent as i can't find "/home/user/MyDocs/.Documents/".
I just see .Documnets in file manager,i'm little confused,please help me ASAP as i'm in an emergency situation

Posts: 445 | Thanked: 572 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Oxford
To get root type 'sudo gainroot'. The documents directory has a different name, and if you can't find it using the standard commandline tools you should give serious consideration to whether you really want to be poking around your device with a root shell.

Besides which, what's wrong with just opening the .deb in the file manager?

i need to install ukeyboard for Arabic persian keyboard,i found deb based file but i don't know how to do it,looked more and found another one in "http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel",updated the source but when i want to install it asks for some file named "hildon-im-fkb(>=3.9.61-1) and fails to install.

I have no hestation to do risky jobs on this phone

Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
Originally Posted by meisam View Post
i need to install ukeyboard for Arabic persian keyboard,i found deb based file but i don't know how to do it,looked more and found another one in "http://repository.maemo.org/extras-devel",updated the source but when i want to install it asks for some file named "hildon-im-fkb(>=3.9.61-1) and fails to install.

I have no hestation to do risky jobs on this phone
The "Documents" folder in the file manager is actually at /home/user/MyDocs/.documents (note the lower-case 'd').