Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,493 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#1
ScreenShot showing menus and xkbd



ScreenShot showing extra icons available for menu





I have completed the latest tarball for an Alternate Window Manager. This one is running Openbox + ROX, and lots of custom configuration.

I have a TARBALL and no place to host it, its roughly 26MB, anybody with some bandwidth that can host the file?

Thanks to lechuck
Removed - Thanks for the link

http://penguinbait.com/OPEN-ROX6.tar.bz2

Thanks to espergreen
http://www.espergreen.com/penguinbait/OPEN-ROX6.tar.bz2


NOTICE - I still need a better place to put this, if anyone has any ideas, please let me know. I will be removing these links in a couple of days, whether I have a new home or not, so grab it now.
I have to wait to find out if I can get approval from the garage.


__________________________________________________ ______

Listed below is a list of changes and information.

MENU ENTRY's
"Menu Refresh" will delete menu cache and restart ROX

"Not Installed" This is where Icons/menu items are stored that are not installed by default. I made a bunch of Icons for additional software, if you install it.

Customize Menu, move the menu items from "Not Installed" to the appropiate locations /usr/local/apps/XXXXXXX


CAUTION, do not move current menu items (its ok to move "Not Installed" folders) or it may cause you serious issues. (Some menu entries have code that will break if you move them, like the deb installs, the wallpaper drag and drop icons, the "Saver". For a general rule of thumb, do not move any of the folders under /user/local/apps (except the "Not Installed" items can be moved anywhere)

If you want to completely make your own Menu layout. Do the following.

Remove /home/user/Apps (This is a link to /usr/local/apps)

Create a new Directory, /home/user/Apps (This is the default location for the menu to look for apps)

Now you can create directories in /usr/local/Apps, like Games, Accessories, Network, Tools, etc.

Now using ROX relative link each app into the directory you want.

Then use the "Menu Refresh" in Tools




Additional Changes

Button Mapping
(zoom -)(fullscreen)(zoom +) = (minimize/iconify)(fullscreen/normal)(close window)

Note that these buttons do not effect the xkbd or matchbox-keyboard. The keyboard Icon on the panel, will start the xkbd, and when you click it again it will kill xkbd.

Menu button works with Hildon Apps

Home button switches desktops

Hildon Keyboard (pop up keyboard) is disabled by default in openbox (my added default) it can be re-enabled from Accessories/Hildon KEyboard/ Stop/Start

If you want to use the WMAPPS, I created a quick little bar with usefull options (Accessories)(WmBar)(start)
It will not start at boot, I did not figure it should?


Menu is new

Pager is new

Archive, just drag files to it. gz/tar/bz2 or drag files to create archive. Kinda neat

Debs should install by clicking on them, there is also a place to drag deb files to, or deb links to install from minimo. If you drag a .install file to the "Drag URL Here" it will error and fail, but place the .install in the "Install" folder. Then just start Application Manager and "install from file" and select the .install file. There is a link in MyDocs, you can just select the Install directory from the main window that opens.

"Saver" This is just a directory with 5 queues in it, they are for downloading files. You can open it and drag links from Minimo to be downloaded to the Queue, the ICON will change if it is still downloading files, you may have to refresh, you can only download 1 file per queue at a time.

If you use xkill and kill ROX, you need to ssh to restart or press shutdown key and reboot.


KBDD is installed by default, it is a hacked version to support BGP100 bluetooth gamepads, I did not feel like keep installing it. Its installed in /usr/local/bin/kbdd edit the btconf file there and add your keyboard, it contains my bt gamepad by default. (Dont forget to pair first)

ISSUES
The only issue I have run across, is that Gaim will create a long window nad you can not grab the bottom window edge to resize it. If you maximize it, you still can not grab the bottom to resize it. The only way I could find to get the window to be able to be resized, From openbox start Gaim and login, now run "Hildon Desktop". Now that you are in Hildon, click on the Gaim application that is running, now open the Hildon menu and start openbox again. You should then be able to resize the window when back in openbox, and it will save the settings.


Installation!!
flash new image and create backup. Refer to here for proper documentation on how to do this.
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ead.php?t=4053

http://maemo.org/maemowiki/HowTo_EAS..._From_MMC_card

You will need GNU tar and bunzip2 to undo this
http://penguinbait.com/tar
or
http://penguinbait.com/tar.gz
and
http://penguinbait.com/bzip2
or
http://penguinbait.com/bzip2.gz

Again the only thing you need to install after untar is PYTHON.

sudo su -
cd /
tar jxvf /path/to/file/OPEN-ROX6.tar.bz2

boot new partition

install python2.5

start openbox from extras menu.

Your Done!!


Updates, I would like anyone who wants to contribute any changes or additions to please contact me. There is a lot of stuff that works that could be coded better, there is only so much I can get done, so if you can help out its more than welcome (its expected), and you can help set the direction for changes you would like to see made.

Let me know what you think!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One last thing, ICONS/Menu Items
There are several applications that run on the n800 and I have not made application/menu entry for every available app. No Problem. These are very easy to create. Just make a Directory somewhere in /usr/local/apps and it will apear in the menu (after a refresh Tools/"Menu Refresh") Want to make it have an Icon just save a image file called .DirIcon in the directory. Now you have a submenu with an Icon. Want to make an app link instead, just add a file in the directory called AppRun. Inside Apprun just call the executable file (with options if needed)
/usr/local/bin/aterm -tr -sh 50 -e /bin/sh

Want to make something that you can drag to, look at mplayer.

/usr/bin/mplayer $1

Thats it, just pass the $1 and it will pass the filename or http when you drop it on the file.


PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
If you create new stuff send it to me. Even "Not Installed" icons, so they can be included in the next release. change a script, write a new one? send it along.

Mime entries you can add entries using vnc server, "Right Click" on a file, say mpg, or avi. It will open a menu (select Set Run Action) and you can drag an app to it or type in an app like /usr/bin/app "$@" Send these to me also, when you create new ones it creates a link in /home/user/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/MIME-types/

ls
/home/user/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/MIME-types/

lrwxrwxrwx 1 user users 44 Mar 7 18:45 application_x-debian-package -> /home/user/Apps/Tools/Install/Drag File Here



Anyway HAVE FUN!!! and Contribute, send contributions to contrib@penguinbait.com

Last edited by penguinbait; 03-08-2007 at 04:08 PM.
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#2
penguinbait, FYI, the link right below "Installation!!" is broken. thanks for your awsome work!
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,493 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#3
Originally Posted by lechuck View Post
penguinbait, FYI, the link right below "Installation!!" is broken. thanks for your awsome work!
Fixed, and added another, to maemo.org
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Mar 2007
#4
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,493 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#5
Something I forgot to mention. If you use xkbd and you type in a URL in minimo, you have to click the right hand menu, and select go, after typing URL, enter does not work.
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,493 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#6
So did anyone get up and running? Questions/comments/cursing??
 
Posts: 209 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Nov 2005 @ Fishers, Indiana
#7
I really like it! I started up my bluetooth keyboard, brought up Links and google/slashdot and started browsing. Very slick, and completely usable by just a keyboard. It's very quick and responsive compared to Opera, although obviously not as polished. The transparent xterm is pretty enough to eat :-) I was surprised at how fast things started up compared to maemo utilities.

Larry
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Israel
#8
I've installed it and it looks great. My N800 now really feels like a true Linux box.

I haven't used Openbox-ROX for long, but at one point the device stopped accepting any input. No buttons worked, nor did the touch screen - although I still heard the clicks when tapping and pressing the buttons. I've no idea if it is related to Openbox-ROX or something else. When the screen blanked, it almost immediately switched back on again. The only way I could get out of it was by rebooting the device.

One other thing that I noticed is during boot-up to via the internal card slot, a strange electronic noise is emitted from the speakers (prior to the 'Nokia tune' while the progress bar is still displayed). Since this is the first time I've tried booting from an SD card, I've no idea whether it is related to stuff installed as part of Openbox-ROX or the boot-up from an card. Any ideas?
 
Posts: 244 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Jan 2007
#9
that strange horrible electronic noise is some older bootup sound.... Where is that by the way Penguin so I can rip it out and hold it underwater? Also if you having trouble with your internal boot, boot up into flash and fsck it, even if it is ext3
 
penguinbait's Avatar
Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,493 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
#10
Originally Posted by schmots View Post
that strange horrible electronic noise is some older bootup sound.... Where is that by the way Penguin so I can rip it out and hold it underwater? Also if you having trouble with your internal boot, boot up into flash and fsck it, even if it is ext3


I don't know where the sound is exactly located, I compiled and installed esd so gaim would have sound, and poof its there on bootup now. I posted that this happens, in prior threads, its not new, its never really sounded that bad to me, but the other day I tried to boot while plugged in and it will make horrible sounds, like its half initialized or something.

I also have crashed a few times, but everytime its related to metalayer-crawl

Run

/etc/init.d/metalayer-crawler0 stop

I then added "exit 0" on the second line, you could also just remove

/etc/rc2.d/S99metalayer-crawler0

rm /etc/rc2.d/S99metalayer-crawler0

That fixed my crashing problem, it will consume 100% of CPU and chew through memory like mad.


I also think that the occaisonal fsck done from flash is necessary, especially after a few crashes.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.