Active Topics

Posts: 1,055 | Thanked: 4,107 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Norway
I noticed just now that I've finally hit the 800 'thanks' mark here on TMO, and, as well as saying thanks for the thanks, I thought it'd be nice to do a little reflection on why I'm here, what I've done, and what I'm doing - a little soul searching, if you will.

Where I've come from
My background before Maemo was not that of a mobile enthusiast. Quite the opposite. My phone was ancient, I never really paid attention to tech news, and I was quite happy. I was still an open source hacker then, though: amongst many other things, I used to be a developer on what I'd nowdays say were quite boring things like InspIRCd, an internet relay chat server.

Gradually, my interests shifted towards other things - amongst many others, I started to experiment with Qt.

Some years ago, that started to change a little, though, as I was introduced to Maemo by Stskeeps (who I've known for many years now). This was (I think) around the time of the n800s, possibly n810s. It caught my interest a little, but I didn't want "yet another device", so I drifted away off onto other things again for a while. Until August, when the n900 was released...

...when I preordered ASAP and proceeded to go insane with geek lust until I finally got my device early December.

Arrival
So, I got my device, I started experimenting, playing, and loving it. PyQt, PySide, Python, C++, I played with them all a bit, and I still do whenever I get the chance now - increasingly often releasing the stuff I toy with too. (http://github.com/rburchell/). Sooner rather than later I started to get increasingly interested in the wider Maemo community - and the Qt community (since I was already there) and started helping out with random things for random people, e.g. application developers when I could.