Notices

Poll: I think I would
Poll Options
I think I would

Posts: 2,050 | Thanked: 1,425 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Bucharest
What I Want

I would very much like to see an application that does an enhanced contacts possible. For example, allow custom names on numbers, bigger images, possibly animations or videos, other stuff.

How I'd do it.

I don't write code for N900, but, as a coder, I'd implement this as a second database, where such data is stored. The ID from the contacts could be used as a link into the second database, where details could be added.

Alternately, the espeakcaller way, a folder that has a .cfg file for each contact where stuff could be added. One doesn't need to store the data in a database, but just contain links to files.

For example, a link could be added to a full-sized picture (or a list of pictures), a video (or multiple videos), phone numbers complete with type, details like free-form notes (text or RTF), a web page, and so on. They could be implemented as tabs.

For numbers, I'd use a syntax like (forgive me, I'm used to INI files):
[numbers]
0012345678=Home
321234544=Vodafone
21312312321=O2

When displaying the list of numbers, I'd look them up. If found, replace label. If not, the nothing. I realize editing numbers would ruin the link, but let's face it, people usually add and remove numbers, they don't edit them.

Similarly, it would have a:
[images]
1=/home/user/MyDocs/DCIM/12312312.jpg
2=/home/user/MyDocs/DCIM/23jpg
3=/media/mmc1/Images/Hello!.jpg

[videos]
1=etc

[notes] (assuming it will do multiple)
1=/whatever.txt

Also, this has the potential to support custom values, not only predefined ones, for example it could hold an infinite number for "Fields", all in text with label.

E.g.:
IBAN=RO01XXXXXXXXX
CC Number=0000-0000-0000-0000

Or, to ease addressing when editing,
[1]
Caption=CC Number
Text=0000-0000-0000-0000