Active Topics

Posts: 168 | Thanked: 104 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ California, USA
Is there any built-in Qt/C++ API for Maemo to implement the handy 'find as you type' functionality in apps, like we see in the Application Manager, or at the home screen, when typing starts a search in the Contacts app?

And if there doesn't happen to be a convenient API, how might someone implement equivalent functionality?

I did a couple of quick google search and ran across QKeyEvent and QWidget::keyPressEvent, but I figured it was worth asking about a Qt/Maemo solution here.

I'm just getting started on Qt/C++ programming, but I do have some C++ background, and picked up the 'C++ GUI Programming with Qt 4' and 'Advanced Qt Programming' books for references.

So far, I've written a very minimal skeleton of a Netflix queue manager app, using a QStackedWidget, and QComboBox to switch between various dialogs (just getting my feet wet with Qt/C++), but I'd like to implement 'find as you type' functionality, instead of something like a Find: <textbox> in most places.

Edit: I think I got it working (at least I'm catching the keyPressEvent), and I'll verify on the n900 later.

I guess the important part was realizing that I needed to care about keyPressEvent in the parent widget, and then decide what to do with the appropriate child widgets.

I'm still curious if the 'find as you type' box that pops up on the bottom of the screen on the n900 is a particular (standard?) control.
Attached Images

Last edited by slvr32; 2010-11-14 at 22:46.

Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 979 times | Joined on Mar 2008 @ SF Bay Area
Originally Posted by slvr32 View Post
Is there any built-in Qt/C++ API for Maemo to implement the handy 'find as you type' functionality in apps, like we see in the Application Manager, or at the home screen, when typing starts a search in the Contacts app?

And if there doesn't happen to be a convenient API, how might someone implement equivalent functionality?