Reply
Thread Tools
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#1
Hi all I have manage to port ubuntu, fedora, and archlinux just like easy-debian. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izZ_eSUtBQo

First of all let me thanks to qole for the job he has done , I modify the scripts he used to run Meego in Xephyr in order to run this linux distros

WARNING: Do this at your own Risk!!!
There are still so much work to do, this is a work in progress project so keep that in mind if you want to install this

So lets go, first of all, you need this:

* Easy-chroot installed
* Easy-Debian (not necessary but recommended)
* Rootsh and nano installed on the device

Please follow all the steps in orden, pay special attention in the locations of the files.



1. Now lets start with UBUNTU

Download the ubuntu image, you can find this in http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9566996/ubun....img.ext2.lzma

Extract it and put it on MyDocs

Install ubuntu-n900.deb using app-manager

To fix your Date take a look here




2. FEDORA: the process itís almost the same

Download the fedora image, you can find this in http://db.tt/CG5fZnJ

Install this: fedora-n900.deb



3. Itís ARCHLINUX Time!!

This process its a little bit more complicated, you need this:

a. You can download the rootfs from www.archmobile.org and make your own *.img.ext2 file or download the one that I made (recommended) from http://ubuntuone.com/p/S9p/
b. The scripts made by qole and modified by my self http://ubuntuone.com/p/Unu/

3.1 Extract the scripts folder and put it on /home/user

3.2 Open Xterminal and type

Code:
cd  /home/user/archlinux
sudo chmod +x /home/user/archlinux/archlinux
sudo chmod +x /home/user/archlinux/chrootarch
sudo chmod +x /home/user/archlinux/startarch
./chrootarch
3.3 Install the Desktop Base System. I use e17

Code:
pacman -Syu
pacman -S nano
pacman -S e17-svn
pacman -S ttf-dejavu
3.4 Create a file to tell which Display Xephyr will use

Code:
touch /usr/bin/starte17
chmod +x /usr/bin/starte17
nano /usr/bin/starte17
Now Copy this:

Code:
DISPLAY=:3 enlightenment_start
press ctrl x and save it

Exit all

Now download this file http://ubuntuone.com/p/ScL/ unziped and copy to MyDocs in your device

then open a new xterminal and type

Code:
sudo cp /home/user/MyDocs/wmctrl /.archlinux/usr/bin
rm /home/user/MyDocs/wmctrl 
cd archlinux
./chrootarch
cd /usr/bin
chmod +x wmctrl
touch /usr/bin/archlinux-e17
chmod +x /usr/bin/archlinux-e17
nano /usr/bin/archlinux-e17
copy this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#archlinux gui
cd  /home/user/archlinux
./archlinux
3.5 Make a closearch file

open a new xterminal and type this

Code:
sudo gainroot
cd /usr/bin
touch closearch
chmod +x closearch
nano closearch
Copy this
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# By Juand
sudo qumount /.archlinux
Save and exit, now you can type closearch in xterminal and the fedora rootfs will be umounted

3.6 keyboard fix: Download this file http://ubuntuone.com/p/Swk/ unziped and put it on MyDocs
Open a new terminal and type

Code:
sudo mv /home/user/MyDocs/set-focus /.archlinux/usr/bin
sudo mv /home/user/MyDocs/qobi-wmhint-fix /.archlinux/sbin
cd /home/user/archlinux
./chrootarch
chmod +x /usr/bin/set-focus\
chmod +x /sbin/qobi-wmhint-fix
exit
3.7 Create a desktop entry for archlinux



PD: Hope that everything works well. Any suggestions and corrections are welcome

Some screenshots:










Last edited by juandp77; 2010-12-27 at 06:29.
 

The Following 120 Users Say Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
009N, AapoRantalainen, abubakar, alex-12gods, AlMehdi, amh, amin007110, AndiThebest, Andy1210, anthonie, apollovy, ArchiMark, artron, Arus, Bahador, bakuur, bioepi, BLIZZARD, Boemien, casper27, cfh11, cheve, cproc, Crugath, D4rKlar, danielpublic, dashti, dbrodie, Del, deny_winarto, Dragoss91, Drobek, dzano, ed00, eiffel, ejasmudar, Estel, fatalsaint, fatcobrah, Flynx, Freddie, frostbyte, fw190, giannoug, gsever, gttnnn, hesham, hrbani, ibrakalifa, IceKeeper, ikirk, ivyking, johnel, JorgeFX, Joseph9560, jurgel, justmemory, kingoddball, linuxeventually, m0da, Magik, Maj3stic, manavs, MiK546, Minhaz, mishmich, mivoligo, MJ m, moepda, MohammadAG, mony123, MyNokiaN900, nathanbibb, nerobot, Nightmae, nikname, norwat, osama, phap, PhonoN900, pichlo, purgiaali, qole, Reffyyyy, rjneid, ryanl33x1511, S0urcerr0r, sam531, samipower, sanchdaniel, Scottlfa, sdixit, Soham, SSLMM, stalker, stlpaul, sudarsan_avs, sunyakram, suzuka, te37v, techno2001, tele, tetris11_, Tharsis, The Winter, Tiboric, titi974, tokag, topet2k12001, travik, tubeat, Turkish, uppercase, vdx29, vkv.raju, wakkamis, xopher, yamakasi, yogi900, zvogt
Posts: 660 | Thanked: 616 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#2
I'm sure a few people will appreciate some kind of guide.

Not me, personally but someone... maybe.
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#3
working on that just a little bit shorter on time and internet connection speed
 

The Following User Says Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 660 | Thanked: 616 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#4
Awesome. It's greatly appreciated.
 
frostbyte's Avatar
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Westside
#5
well done! I'd be really interested in the Arch port but my n00bness prevents me to venture where only few have gone before. awaiting instructions...
__________________
[ArchLinux|OpenBox blissness]

"The Cake Is A Lie"
 
Posts: 202 | Thanked: 103 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#6
NoW this looks interesting. Any instructions yet!
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#7
ok updated instructions available
 

The Following User Says Thank You to juandp77 For This Useful Post:
frostbyte's Avatar
Posts: 293 | Thanked: 370 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Westside
#8
thank you! i'll give arch a shot once the upload is finished. thanks again.
__________________
[ArchLinux|OpenBox blissness]

"The Cake Is A Lie"
 
juandp77's Avatar
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 200 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Ecuador
#9
Archlinux instructions and file update
 
Posts: 309 | Thanked: 113 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Malaysia
#10
hi there..so does this mean that we don't need to boot into linux distros?meaning, just load it on top of maemo?

mind telling me what's the difference between installing native linux distro and installing linux distro on top of maemo?
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:40.