Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,522 | Thanked: 390 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ São Paulo, Brazil
#1
I found the following with Google:

Originally Posted by http://www.pscforum.co.uk/forum/view...php?f=19&t=380
For anyone interested in geting HotSpot Shield working on the N900 here how I did it:
1.enable extras-devel repo
2.install vpnc
3.install vpngui
4.Reboot

Go into the VPN applet press New and put in:
Name: HotspotShield
Gateway address: 68.68.107.101
IPSec Group: hss
IPSec Secret: hss

Go to http://hotspotshield.com/clientless/...et_started.php
Get account ID

Go into the VPN applet again, hit connect and put in the username and password you get from the link above.
ENJOY!

What I found interesting is that unlike the desktop client which inserts ads in every page you browse, this doesn't!
Why all this?
Well, I use it to listen to pandora radio(I am outside the US) via pyradio.
 

The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to TiagoTiago For This Useful Post:
AgogData's Avatar
Posts: 870 | Thanked: 133 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#2
works ! thanks
there were 2 vpn gui apps, is the other one a menu gui ? cause i don't like the applet one.
and when pyradio started it says select a station from the right..but there were no stations on the right.
 
Posts: 1,522 | Thanked: 390 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ São Paulo, Brazil
#3
Have you created any radios on Pandora yet?
 
laasonen's Avatar
Posts: 565 | Thanked: 618 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Finland
#4
Works nicely on my phone, but I can't get it working on my laptop's Arch Linux with networkmanager-vpnc.

Do you know what's wrong with these settings?


I just get this message, when I'm trying to connect:


Originally Posted by AgogData View Post
works ! thanks
there were 2 vpn gui apps, is the other one a menu gui ? cause i don't like the applet one.
VPNC:
vpngui <- applet
vpn-gui <- unhildonized application
VPN Concentrators:
openconnect-gui <- application
OpenVPN:
openvpn-applet <- applet

Last edited by laasonen; 2010-12-11 at 23:51.
 
Posts: 1,522 | Thanked: 390 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ São Paulo, Brazil
#5
do you have the vpnc thing installed?
 
laasonen's Avatar
Posts: 565 | Thanked: 618 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Finland
#6
Originally Posted by TiagoTiago View Post
do you have the vpnc thing installed?
I installed vpnc and networkmanager-vpnc.
 
Posts: 1,522 | Thanked: 390 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ São Paulo, Brazil
#7
 
Posts: 109 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on May 2010
#8
hi. can't seem to get this to work. i get 'unable to connect' message. do i have to use my n900 to get the user/pass account? does this work like in the pc where i can access blocked sites? thanks.
 
laasonen's Avatar
Posts: 565 | Thanked: 618 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Finland
#9
Originally Posted by bertolt View Post
hi. can't seem to get this to work. i get 'unable to connect' message. do i have to use my n900 to get the user/pass account? does this work like in the pc where i can access blocked sites? thanks.
I created my account with my desktop computer.

Does your settings look like this?
 
Posts: 109 | Thanked: 12 times | Joined on May 2010
#10
Originally Posted by laasonen View Post
I created my account with my desktop computer.

Does your settings look like this?
yes. exactly. the site for acct creation was actually for iphone. so i thought i need to use my n900. btw. i am connecting via wifi, if that matters.
 
Reply

Tags
hotspotshield, pandora, pyradio

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:08.