Got my n900 two months ago and must say that at least for me it's kind of disappointing. Biggest thing what I don't like is the unfinished, beta-like, feeling of the system. Yeah, yeah, I know it's linux and so on. I tried nitdroid and meego, of course neither one still doesn't offer even same functions.

Some of you say that I should have done my homework before bying it, but why? If I've been using Nokia phones for 15 years why suddenly I would have to think that they give me less, especially when the phone itself is in the more expensive end.
When you install linux on your computer it doesn't have everything and you have to tinker with it. But it's free, phones are consumer products, meant to be used out of the box.

If you buy a new car for yourself, you just assume that it has everything what eveyone else has. Nokia N900 is like a car what has blinkers installed but no wires going to them, and the factory says that we're not going to put those wires in but you can if you know how to.

And especially disappointing is how Nokia obviously doesn't care about updating maemo, or even trying to make it to a same level than others.

Posts: 4,384 | Thanked: 5,524 times | Joined on Jul 2007 @ ˙ǝɹǝɥʍou
You've raised some fair points, but I think some of the comparisons are off (car analogies never work right in tech).

Let's hope things improve.

Happy new year.
Agro ... : [###-------] | Relic(s) : iPhone 4S, Atrix, Milestone, N900, N800, N95, HTC G1, Treos, Zauri, BB 9000, BB 9700, etc

Follow the MeeGo Coding Competition!

The Following User Says Thank You to ysss For This Useful Post:
Posts: 433 | Thanked: 312 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ U.K
so what phone will you get now?

Well, it all depends on what you paid for it. Personally, I understood that it might have some rough edges, and allowed for that. I installed a few tweaking apps, changed some configuration, OC'd it, and now I've got a really nice device that's extremely responsive.