Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#1
What do I enter for the WEP key # in the connection setup? It will only take 5 characters exactly and my router WEP key is more than 5 characters. I've entered 5 characters of the the WEP and it appears to connect (it shows "sending" but not "recieving") When I attempt to get on the internet I receive "Netwerk Problem" message. Help, please?
 
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#2
Try changing the strength of the encryption. 64-bit (40-bit) encryption wants a five character key. 128-bit encryption lets you enter up to 13 characters (or longer, if it's a hexadecimal key you're entering).
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#3
That won't work. Anyone else?
 
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#4
Won't work or didn't work?

Exactly how many characters is your WEP key?
 
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ St Petersburg, FL
#5
Originally Posted by keb1717
That won't work. Anyone else?
Why not explain why or what happened after you tried it. You might also try and thank people for trying to help
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2005
#6
switch wep key type to hex when you type it in..
__________________
- Niels

http://dutch.hopto.org
 
Posts: 75 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#7
My 770 is setup for 128 bit encryption no problem?
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Dec 2005
#8
Thanks for the help.

Sorry.

My router is set for 64 bit and the wep key has 10 characters. The 770 is set for 64 bit as well, but it only allows 5 characters to be entered.

I've entered the first 5 characters of the wep and it appears to connect to the router - the signal bar appears, connect time appears and the outgoing signal shows, but no incoming.

I receive "network problem" when trying to get on the internet. What am I missing?

Thanks.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to keb1717 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 37 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Nov 2005
#9
Originally Posted by keb1717
My router is set for 64 bit and the wep key has 10 characters. The 770 is set for 64 bit as well, but it only allows 5 characters to be entered.
Is your WEP key in HEX or plain ASCII ?
 
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Dec 2005
#10
Originally Posted by keb1717
Thanks for the help.

Sorry.

My router is set for 64 bit and the wep key has 10 characters. The 770 is set for 64 bit as well, but it only allows 5 characters to be entered.

I've entered the first 5 characters of the wep and it appears to connect to the router - the signal bar appears, connect time appears and the outgoing signal shows, but no incoming.

I receive "network problem" when trying to get on the internet. What am I missing?

Thanks.
Change to Hex when entering code. That should do it. I had the same prob.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:31.