Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 781 | Thanked: 3,026 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#1
Hello, new mypaint-0.9.1-maemo2 is now on extras-devel.

First There are reasons why it is on extras-devel!
*Drawing is not working very well with pressure maps from mypaint-0.8.2. When starting new stroke it is attached to the end of the latest stroke. This can be avoided if stylus is used very gently. This is part I need help.
*Upgrading can break your own brush/settings/scraps.

Second: Working mypaint-0.8.2 is on extras, so downgrading is possible.

It is installable (optified) and it starts. It is not spawning error messages and seems it does what is expected (instead of that pressure thing). It contains Tone's brush kit.

It doesn't have any hildonization (should it have, what you think?). I do not know is this faster or better than mypaint-0.8.2, hope so.

**
And source is here: https://gitorious.org/~aaporantalain...aint-for-maemo
 

The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to AapoRantalainen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 210 | Thanked: 172 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ NYC
#2
Great progress! Thanks!!

1) Is this the default pressure maps or the one tone made?

2) I don't really use the hildon menu, but if it's not much work I would say to keep it in for noobs. Though now there are simpler drawing app that one could use may be less intimidating.

How can we help? Are you looking for ppl to just install and report back or someone like tone who has been deeper in the guts of mypaint than most of us users?

X
 
stickymick's Avatar
Posts: 908 | Thanked: 649 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#3
Just gonna try this out.

Do we need to uninstall the older version prior to installation of this new version?
__________________
Mick has just punched the cr@p out of the "Unlike" button on the Official Nokia Facebook Page.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to stickymick For This Useful Post:
stickymick's Avatar
Posts: 908 | Thanked: 649 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#4
0.9.1-maemo2 is still not working for me.

Reverting back to 0.8.2. for the time being.

Scratch that idea also
Can't even find 0.8.2 now, only half the files in the catalogues are being displayed.

WTF is going on? My 900's gone round the tank tonight.
__________________
Mick has just punched the cr@p out of the "Unlike" button on the Official Nokia Facebook Page.

Last edited by stickymick; 04-20-2011 at 04:45 PM.
 
Posts: 2,143 | Thanked: 3,430 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Florida
#5
I would prefer a hildonized menu, more or less because while it is usable without it, it would bug me if it suddenly became okay for developers to not hildonize N900 programs.

On the other hand, right now it's usable in both portrait and landscape, even non-hildonized, which is "good enough" for usability.

As for the noobs comment, hildonization isn't about newbness, it's about being able to use a program without needing precision poking-the-screen skills.

Oh, I can't get mypaint to run from menu either, but launching it from the command-line works. (Just type "mypaint" in X-Term. I recommend not doing it as root, as usually that just messes up future usability.)

The first time it runs in X-Term it'll say a lot about removing old brushes, and then about updating brushes with upstream sources. Don't freak out, I think this is supposed to happen.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mentalist Traceur For This Useful Post:
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#6
Originally Posted by stickymick View Post
0.9.1-maemo2 is still not working for me.

Reverting back to 0.8.2. for the time being.

Scratch that idea also
Can't even find 0.8.2 now, only half the files in the catalogues are being displayed.

WTF is going on? My 900's gone round the tank tonight.
think its been deleted "management cleaning" on the repo's unless anyone can upload the .deb file?

gav
 
XiliX's Avatar
Posts: 348 | Thanked: 208 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Netherlands
#7
It only works when i start it from the x-terminal. for me..
 
Posts: 150 | Thanked: 16 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#8
Originally Posted by XiliX View Post
It only works when i start it from the x-terminal. for me..
confirmed

gav
 
Creativetone's Avatar
Posts: 374 | Thanked: 3,066 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Finland
#9
Ok!

I have now installed 0.9.1-maemo2

Let's see..

++ Speed improvement is quite huge!

++ Zooming and Mirroring canvas works very well, very crisp picture quality (no more blurry picture) I like a lot

+ Sub windows are very nice.. I can now select colors and adjust layer opacity with slider and I even see what happen in realtime good.

++ Very fast rotozoom, good feature (only need a change keymapping)

- X-term launch

EDIT: I can't edit "deep" brush settings = those fancy envelopes

Thanks for everybody, thank you very much Aapo!
__________________
Tone aka Creativetone aka Luovatone

Nokia N900 x2 | OC 1,15 GHz | MyPaint 0.9.1 for Fremantle | Tone's Brush Set

www.tonikasurinen.fi

Last edited by Creativetone; 04-21-2011 at 02:52 AM. Reason: EDIT
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Creativetone For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,042 | Thanked: 425 times | Joined on May 2010
#10
Hi! Anybody wanna try test this desktop shortcut if it fixes the problem with launching from menu? Just paste it on /usr/share/applications/hildon/ just overwrite the non working one.(I guess there's no need to backup original one since it's not working)
Attached Files
File Type: gz mypaint.desktop.gz (487 Bytes, 176 views)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Radicalz38 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
mypaint

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 PM.