Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 16 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Sep 2011
#1
Hello,

I took this N810 a week ago, and i am totally new to this maemo platform. so can any one help me on these issues below :

1) Is video calling is possible on N810 - and with which application ?
does it work with skype ?
Currently i could make only voice calls on skype.
if skype does not work, is there an application that can use googletalk for video calls ?


2) how can i use google voice with the dialcentre - it always asks me for a callback no.
and i am not able to find the right place even on googlevoice to register that callback no.


3) I find N810 too slow in launching any applications - how can i enhance the speed.

4) How can i delete the games which are preinstalled in the N810. I do not use much of gaming applications. I just would like to increase some space.

5) Heard that N810 has inbuilt GPS -
Is there a good GPS application to run it
there are so many in the installable applications - which one is the easiest and consumes less space.
i found this freemap-il but it does not look like in english...

I am totally new to this maemo, but want to explore, i have searched a lot of forums and threads on maemo, but could not find clear answers...

hence posting this new one.........

please help

madhu
 
Addison's Avatar
Posts: 3,807 | Thanked: 1,128 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ East Lansing, MI
#2
2) Since Gizmo shut down, you need to get a sip account.
http://www.sipgate.com/

This will be your callback number.

3) Install Diablo Turbo and the Community SSU
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=69740
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=61117
 
Posts: 2,803 | Thanked: 4,469 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#3
Originally Posted by rimadreamer View Post
1) Is video calling is possible on N810 - and with which application ?
does it work with skype ?
Not skype, but it does work with XMPP (jabber) and possibly SIP accounts.

if skype does not work, is there an application that can use googletalk for video calls ?
Not sure about google's specific service, http://blog.barisione.org/2011-06/broken-gtalk-calls/ casts some doubt.

5) Heard that N810 has inbuilt GPS -
Is there a good GPS application to run it
Maemo mapper works best for me.
 
Posts: 16 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Sep 2011
#4
Originally Posted by Addison View Post
2) Since Gizmo shut down, you need to get a sip account.
http://www.sipgate.com/

This will be your callback number.

3) Install Diablo Turbo and the Community SSU
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=69740
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=61117

Hello

thanks for your info...
I started installing for the diablo turbo..
but i am stuck at the first step itself
updating the firmware - the sudo flasher command
sudo dpkg -i <flasher-package-name>
why does it ask for a pwd here ?

kindly reply
 
Straycat's Avatar
Posts: 218 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ spain
#5
Originally Posted by rimadreamer View Post
...
I started installing for the diablo turbo..
but i am stuck at the first step itself
updating the firmware - the sudo flasher command
sudo dpkg -i <flasher-package-name>
...
You 'wish' install .deb packages better.
__________________
God Bless The Blues!!
 
Posts: 1,090 | Thanked: 1,140 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Spain
#6
Originally Posted by rimadreamer View Post
Hello

thanks for your info...
I started installing for the diablo turbo..
but i am stuck at the first step itself
updating the firmware - the sudo flasher command
sudo dpkg -i <flasher-package-name>
why does it ask for a pwd here ?

kindly reply
You should install CSSU first.
Then follow Diablo Turbo first post instructions TO THE LETTER
 
Posts: 16 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Sep 2011
#7
Hello,

as per the installation instructions in the link:

http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=69740

I successfully reached the rootsh,
then got the ccsu repository enabled and unlocked.

but now i am stuck at this command

from #home/user
when i enter
> cd /media/mmc1/dt
i get error as "cant cd to media/mmc1/dt
why is this error ?
am i doing anything wrong ?

kindly help
 
Posts: 2,803 | Thanked: 4,469 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#8
Originally Posted by rimadreamer View Post
but now i am stuck at this command

from #home/user
when i enter
> cd /media/mmc1/dt
i get error as "cant cd to media/mmc1/dt
why is this error ?
am i doing anything wrong ?
It sounds like you skipped this part of the installation instructions:

Create directory /media/mmc1/dt (your external SDHC card)
move all saved dt files to this location
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lma For This Useful Post:
Posts: 16 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Sep 2011
#9
hello all,

thanks to all your prompt responses. have been able to successfully install the diablo finally.
 
Posts: 477 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Munich, Germany
#10
Video call works with the built-in software on the N810 using google talk... I gave a N810 to my mother for that purpose and have been using for a few years now. The limitation is that the N810 will only do video calls to another N810, N800 or N900.

Skype video does not work on the N810 and probably never will. It does work on the N900.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Jerome For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:31.