Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#1
Hi guys!

Today I was trying to change my SUPL server on my Nokia N9, but surprisingly, I cannot do it by Settings. I tried to search on Google, but not found anything about it.
So I started to search where it is configured and change.
Here it is!!

Step 1: Enable developer mode and open Terminal
Step 2: On Terminal type
Code:
~ $ devel-su -
If you not changed your password yet, it will be "rootme"

Step 3: edit the file below by typing
Code:
~ # nano /etc/xdg/nokia/location-settings.conf
Inside that file, edit it to be like the one below (in bold the edited strings)

Code:
PrimarySuplServer=supl.google.com
PrimarySuplAllowHome=true
PrimarySuplAllowRoaming=true
PrimarySuplOnlyGprs=false
SecondarySuplServer=supl.nokia.com
SecondarySuplAllowHome=true
SecondarySuplAllowRoaming=true
SuplForced=true
Step 4: save the file using "CTRL X"
Step 5: reboot the phone

From now, your GPS will be 'locked' faster than before!!
In my tests the GPS locked in less than 10 seconds (after Nokia Maps fully loaded)!
Before, the lock was around 40 seconds to 1 minute.

It's known the SUPL Nokia server is slow, and in Brazil (where I live) it's outdated, so the solution is to use Google servers.

I hope it helps! =D

PS: If you not have 'nano' and receive 'not found', install it using command:
Code:
~ # apt-get install nano
PS2: I use "true" to "SuplForced", 'cause I always have internet connection, but if you don't have it, leave it "false".
 

The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to elieserleao For This Useful Post:
Posts: 648 | Thanked: 650 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#2
Originally Posted by elieserleao View Post
PS2: I use "true" to "SuplForced", 'cause I always have internet connection, but if you don't have it, leave it "false".
Thanks for this tip. If SuplForced is false, will this mod make the GPS lock faster?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to SamGan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#3
Originally Posted by SamGan View Post
Thanks for this tip. If SuplForced is false, will this mod make the GPS lock faster?
Your GPS will lock faster if you use SUPL servers (A-GPS)!

A-GPS use cells informations to triangulate your position, and to get coordinates of the cells it will query SUPL servers...

So the property will be "true" if you wanna ALWAYS use SUPL servers (A-GPS) instead of waiting regular-GPS satellites to respond.

Get it?!
 
cddiede's Avatar
Posts: 1,034 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Annapolis, MD
#4
Not knowing how to change my SUPL server on the N9 was driving me Crazy!! Thanks so much!
 
Moderator | Posts: 5,320 | Thanked: 4,464 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#5
excellent finding, thanks for sharing!
 
Posts: 135 | Thanked: 93 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#6
normally when i'm in the car i get a lock very quickly without having this modded... i shall mod and see if there is a noticeable difference
 

The Following User Says Thank You to randomdood For This Useful Post:
Posts: 93 | Thanked: 88 times | Joined on May 2011
#7
Tried to ping supl.nokia.com:
18-20 ms
supl.google.com:
134-256 ms

This was from Sweden. I would say this mods effect will highly depend on your location.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to crisscross For This Useful Post:
Posts: 86 | Thanked: 42 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#8
Originally Posted by crisscross View Post
Tried to ping supl.nokia.com:
18-20 ms
supl.google.com:
134-256 ms

This was from Sweden. I would say this mods effect will highly depend on your location.
Aye, in the US I have the opposite effect.
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#9
Originally Posted by crisscross View Post
This was from Sweden. I would say this mods effect will highly depend on your location.
That's what I'm talking about. In Brasil the pings not differ so much, but the Google Database is more accurate and updated...
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to elieserleao For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2013
#10
Please, can anybody explain how to edit file with configurations in step 3. I just can't change the code
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:19.