Reply
Thread Tools
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,620 | Thanked: 5,384 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#1
Remember the N95? It also had a transflective lcd screen just like the N900, but the N95 screen always showed the time. It was really dim but it was cool for most of the situations.

I also saw the 701, which also has an LCD screen and has an Idle screen with the time and notifications just like the N9, with the backlight turned down to the lowest level.

So I think maybe there is not too much impact on battery life if the N900 showed the lock screen always, (with a white background and black text)

I managed to turn the lock screen on when the device is locked with a script that simulates a power button press, and then dim the screen to 2 or even 0, but the screen turns off again 3 seconds later. I made a loop that triggers the power button again, and I managed to make it last for about 15 seconds, but then the screen turns forcibly off, and back on the next time the loop kicks in. The downside is that the backlight is dimmed 0.7 seconds after "power button pressed" so the light flashes once each 15 seconds which is unacceptable. You can try it by physically tapping the power button continuously. The lock screen eventually turns off.

So I am in search of a dbus command or other script that just forces the screen to turn on, and stay that way.

EDIT: various solutions are in development, check the thread. Most stable seems to be woodys' QBW in page 2. (Link)

EDIT: I am happy to announce timenow, a utility that shows the time on the locked screen when the proximity sensor is uncovered. This should be power friendly enough, but please test and report.

EDIT: fixed some bugs and imported to extras-devel
Attached Files
File Type: gz timenow.tar.gz (10.1 KB, 129 views)
File Type: deb timenow_0_0_1_armel.deb (14.7 KB, 244 views)
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jollacontactlaunchtimenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob

Last edited by qwazix; 2012-09-06 at 19:35.
 

The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to qwazix For This Useful Post:
nicolai's Avatar
Posts: 1,637 | Thanked: 4,406 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Germany
#2
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to nicolai For This Useful Post:
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,620 | Thanked: 5,384 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#3
oh thanks! I had seen that thread but missed these options.I will try and report back.
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jollacontactlaunchtimenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob
 
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,620 | Thanked: 5,384 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#4
Unfortunately they don't seem to affect lockscreen behavior... It still turns off 3s later
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jollacontactlaunchtimenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob
 
nicolai's Avatar
Posts: 1,637 | Thanked: 4,406 times | Joined on Apr 2009 @ Germany
#5
inhibit_blank_mode 4 disables screen blank
this works for me.
gconftool -s /system/osso/dsm/display/inhibit_blank_mode 4 -t int
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to nicolai For This Useful Post:
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,620 | Thanked: 5,384 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#6
does it need a reboot? I run this command as user and then lock the device. Screen turns off. If I press the power button screen turns on and off again after 3 seconds. I am using CSSU testing (latest). Thanks.
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jollacontactlaunchtimenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob
 
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,208 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#7
Code:
echo 0 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/blank
echo 20 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
You can then write to the framebuffer manually to have it display stuff.
I'm not sure what disables rendering UI elements such as the desktop, probably some code in hildon-desktop

As an example:
Code:
# With the screen on
cat /dev/fb0 > rawscreenshot
# Lock screen with side button
echo 0 > /sys/class/graphics/fb0/blank
echo 20 > /sys/class/backlight/acx565akm/brightness
cat rawscreenshot > /dev/fb0
# You should see your screenshot on the framebuffer
Optionally, this enables the touchscreen.
Code:
echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/omap2_mcspi.1/spi1.0/disable_ts
 

The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,208 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#8
And yep, it's in hildon-desktop:
http://gitorious.org/community-ssu/h...dbus.c#line226
Lines 256-272 stop any redraws from occurring.
 

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
qwazix's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 2,620 | Thanked: 5,384 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#9
Excellent! Thanks a lot, it is even better than I expected as I can write whatever I want on the screen.
__________________
Proud coding competition 2012 winner: ρcam
My other apps: speedcrunch N9 N900 Jollacontactlaunchtimenow

Nemo UX blog: Grog
My website: qwazix.com
My job: oob
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to qwazix For This Useful Post:
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,208 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#10
If you're not interested in the UI you can play a video in mplayer as well.
Code:
mplayer -vo fbdev videofile
 

The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:35.