Reply
Thread Tools
Garrett_PL's Avatar
Posts: 198 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Louth / Ireland
#1
Hi everyone, first of all thats my first post here so by understanding please.

I'm having problem during start (each and every time) Maps and Drive app. After few seconds hanging to nearly open (map screen is not on yet) it asking question do I want to close application because it is not responding. Always click "NO", and when I wait few sec. (about 20 - 30s)it starts normaly.

Maps are in "offline" mode. Can anyone help to solve problem?

Thx for any response.
 
The Best Isaac's Avatar
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Germany
#2
Do you have many maps installed?

I noticed that Maps start was very long after I installed many maps. After uninstalling those that I didn't need very much the start of the application was normal again.
 
Garrett_PL's Avatar
Posts: 198 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Louth / Ireland
#3
That's the thing that I don't have many, to be precise have only Ireland aded to see how it goes. Still the same.

App before and after phone flash are cousing the same problem.

After it will charge (should be any minute now) I will try to play witch options for Maps and Drive, will see. If I'll find solution (I don't think so), it will be here.
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Posts: 462 | Thanked: 641 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#4
Originally Posted by The Best Isaac View Post
I noticed that Maps start was very long after I installed many maps. After uninstalling those that I didn't need very much the start of the application was normal again.
How do you uninstall them? - Maps only offers to uninstall ALL maps at once, but not one-per-one.

And talking about getting rid of unwanted stuff - how can I remove unwanted languages?
__________________
Nokia 5110 > 3310 > 6230 > N70 > N9 BLACK 64GB
Hildon Foundation Board member term 2013/2014
 
Posts: 1,539 | Thanked: 1,592 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ With my N9
#5
Here's how to reinstall it, this 'should' fix it:

Make sure you are connected to WLAN
Go into terminal
devel-su
rootme
apt-get --reinstall install nokia-drive-qml
say yes to the package that is being reinstalled.
__________________
Arie|www.everythingn9.com|Nokia N9 64GB x2|Nokia N950

@everythingn9

Temporary Inception Fix


Times Banned from TMO: 4
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Arie For This Useful Post:
The Best Isaac's Avatar
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 157 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Germany
#6
Originally Posted by Win7Mac View Post
How do you uninstall them? - Maps only offers to uninstall ALL maps at once, but not one-per-one.

And talking about getting rid of unwanted stuff - how can I remove unwanted languages?
Yeah you're right. When I wrote this I didn't remember what I exactly did back then. I guess I deleted all maps and afterwards installed only the maps I really needed.
 
Posts: 171 | Thanked: 85 times | Joined on Dec 2011
#7
Originally Posted by Arie View Post
Here's how to reinstall it, this 'should' fix it:

Make sure you are connected to WLAN
Go into terminal
devel-su
rootme
apt-get --reinstall install nokia-drive-qml
say yes to the package that is being reinstalled.
Thanks Arie , that seems to have solved my issue where Drive would take ages to show up map on the screen, but it was working nevertheless , as I could hear the voice prompts!! .
 
Garrett_PL's Avatar
Posts: 198 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Louth / Ireland
#8
I think it might be the "offline" mode that is causing the problem:

- It says at the start that "Maps is not responding".
- After chosing to continue with application it eventually opens.
- After few sec. shows "connect to network to get nearest locations"

I did disable all "show" options like - nearest places, etc. but it is still slow to open, and that message "... not responding" - it's very annoing.

I think that's something I have to used to in my N9er, like the "Idle" consuming all power

But if someone had the same problem and solved it, please write "how to".
 
Posts: 1,539 | Thanked: 1,592 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ With my N9
#9
Originally Posted by Garrett_PL View Post
I think it might be the "offline" mode that is causing the problem:

- It says at the start that "Maps is not responding".
- After chosing to continue with application it eventually opens.
- After few sec. shows "connect to network to get nearest locations"

I did disable all "show" options like - nearest places, etc. but it is still slow to open, and that message "... not responding" - it's very annoing.

I think that's something I have to used to in my N9er, like the "Idle" consuming all power

But if someone had the same problem and solved it, please write "how to".
Follow the instructions I posted, see if that helps, I run my maps in offline mode and I have no issues.
__________________
Arie|www.everythingn9.com|Nokia N9 64GB x2|Nokia N950

@everythingn9

Temporary Inception Fix


Times Banned from TMO: 4
 
Garrett_PL's Avatar
Posts: 198 | Thanked: 218 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Louth / Ireland
#10
Originally Posted by Arie View Post
Follow the instructions I posted, see if that helps, I run my maps in offline mode and I have no issues.
Can You write the exact commands for "Terminal" please, and tell about the sizes of downloaded packages - have to decide what kind of int connection will I use

Cheers in advance.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:41.