Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
AndyNokia232's Avatar
Posts: 590 | Thanked: 475 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ New York City
#1
I am a fairly careful N9 owner, and I don't know much about Terminal so I usually don't bother with it.

But please let this post be a sort of warning for you; my N9 now won't boot up, and I didn't really do anything.

I had installed FasterN9 about a week ago (no problems) and the new shiny Wazapp (no problems) and everything was working hunky dory.

Then I read that a new FasterN9 was out so I uninstalled my old one and rebooted.

That's when this message appeared. The phone will not go past this now. Holding the power button in for a long time just produces the same.

I'm hopeful that the ever-helpful Arie can get things back to normal by steering me through flashing it. The fact that it at least shows this message as opposed to totally dead gives me some hope.

I hope you guys have not had similar problems, and if anyone knows why my N9 is now on strike, please feel free to throw 2 cents my way. And before you say, "Try Nokia Suite like it says", that would be like the IT guy saying, "Did you try turning it on?"

I will update this post when I am back as part of the N9 community. Right now I'm part of the Nokia E75 community, and trust me, I'm all alone
Attached Images
 
__________________
@N9Andy | www.everythingN9.com | cyan Nokia N9

Last edited by AndyNokia232; 2012-05-21 at 10:37.
 
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 277 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Helsinki, Finland
#2
Plug your N9 in to a charger and try to boot it after ~30 minutes.

My device got the same message when I rebooted it with almost empty battery. Well, I had to reflash, but the reflashing event couldn't start before charging the device first. So maybe there is a possibility that empty battery prevents the N9 for starting after reboot.

You might have tried charging already (quite possibly), but I mention it just because I didn't.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Ministeri For This Useful Post:
AndyNokia232's Avatar
Posts: 590 | Thanked: 475 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ New York City
#3
@Ministeri Thanks, I'll try it although I know the battery was pretty full before this happened - it had come of the overnight charge about an hour or so since.

Hey, there's always this option: http://www.amazon.com/Nokia-Smartpho...7596874&sr=8-9

GULP!
__________________
@N9Andy | www.everythingN9.com | cyan Nokia N9
 
Posts: 5,795 | Thanked: 3,148 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Agoura Hills Calif
#4
I had to reflash my almost-new cyan N9 a few days ago. It wasn't hard, but I had lots of experience with my N900. The first thing I would do in your situation would be try to run the software updater, as the screen suggests.
__________________
All I want is 40 acres, a mule, and Xterm.
 
flopjoke's Avatar
Posts: 426 | Thanked: 374 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Middle East
#5
I did the same thing you did.. Wazapp.. faster N9 new version.. Even rebooted to make sure everything was in order. So far it's working fine, thank God. But yeah, when you "update" apps.. make sure your battery is full or that you're connected to a charger. The phone has a tendency to keep going "sorry, not enough battery for doing that, plug yo charger, dude" so it must have done that like half way through installation of fasterN9 or wazapp or something.

Reflashing should bring it back new.. Although I hope you backed up everything before doing that

Last edited by flopjoke; 2012-05-21 at 11:25.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to flopjoke For This Useful Post:
Posts: 362 | Thanked: 182 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#6
Here is a great guide for flashing:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=82693
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Sniper_swe For This Useful Post:
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#7
I had the same problem and had to send it to Alabama Nokia repair center to get it reflashed, as I couldn't do it myself. Good luck
 

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
AndyNokia232's Avatar
Posts: 590 | Thanked: 475 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ New York City
#8
Originally Posted by Lumiaman View Post
I had the same problem and had to send it to Alabama Nokia repair center to get it reflashed, as I couldn't do it myself. Good luck
I don't have much faith in that Alabama care center as they scratched the screen of a previous phone I sent them. Really!

Thanks though
__________________
@N9Andy | www.everythingN9.com | cyan Nokia N9
 
Posts: 1,539 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Oct 2011 @ With my N9
#9
Originally Posted by AndyNokia232 View Post
I don't have much faith in that Alabama care center as they scratched the screen of a previous phone I sent them. Really!

Thanks though
Don't worry, we'll get it up and running. I've flashed all 3 of my N9's many times. My main one, which is dead, has been flashed over 100 times plus.

It'll be fine, just text me the time, we'll do it. BTW, if you do it this weekend, you'll have Shaun around to help too.
__________________
Arie|www.everythingn9.com|Nokia N9 64GB x2|Nokia N950

@everythingn9

Temporary Inception Fix


Times Banned from TMO: 4
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Arie For This Useful Post:
Posts: 28 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Argentina
#10
reflash, end of story. Good luck
 

The Following User Says Thank You to patocr For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18.