Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 49 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Jan 2014 @ Moscow
#41
Hello! The maps works fine, but no longer displayed Wikipedia...
 
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Grenoble, France
#42
I've discovered it also two hours ago !

It's ws.geonames.org that is not in the DNS anymore. Digging, from http://www.geonames.org, it appears that now (in fact since 2 years), one should use api.geonames.org instead of ws.geonames.org. In addition, each request should be identified with an application name. So, I've made the changes in the code to use api.geonames.org instead, and I've declared maep as an application.

I'll make new RPMs soon.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dcaliste For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Grenoble, France
#43
Here are some new RPMs, with two minor changes:
- use the new api.geonames.org (in between, ws.geonames.org has reappered again) ;
- use an approximation to display the direction when GPS is used, waiting for a Qt bug being fixed and get this information from GPS directly.

See OpenRepos or direct download:
http://dcaliste.free.fr/devel/maep-q....7-10.i586.rpm
http://dcaliste.free.fr/devel/maep-q...10.armv7hl.rpm
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dcaliste For This Useful Post:
Posts: 189 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#44
Is it possible to integrate the traffic service of Google? That's the only thing why I keep using Google Maps for now.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to MaemoUser For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Grenoble, France
#45
New version 1.3.7-12 with:
- implement track length and duration measurements.
- correct the autosave functionality for tracks.
- add a setting for autosave period.
- add a bottom drawer to display track information.

For the traffic info from Google, That would be great, but I didn't found if they give access to their data. In essence, what I've understand is that, if you use their own JS implementation of maps, you can ask for an overlay, but I don't know how to get the overlay without using their map rendering implementation. Any suggestion is welcomed !
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dcaliste For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,502 | Thanked: 7,200 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Czech Republic
#46
Originally Posted by dcaliste View Post
For the traffic info from Google, That would be great, but I didn't found if they give access to their data. In essence, what I've understand is that, if you use their own JS implementation of maps, you can ask for an overlay, but I don't know how to get the overlay without using their map rendering implementation. Any suggestion is welcomed !
Well, if you display Google maps with the traffic overlay, you will see it is just another (transparent) PNG layer. The same thing for weather and other info-layers.
__________________
modRana: a flexible GPS navigation system
Mieru: a flexible manga and comic book reader
Universal Components - a solution for native looking yet component set independent QML appliactions (QtQuick Controls 2 & Silica supported as backends)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to MartinK For This Useful Post:
Jordi's Avatar
Posts: 373 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Jun 2011 @ Geneva - CH
#47
Brilliant update!

I also like the way you manage the tracks: first the above pulley menu which triggers to the one at the bottom.
 
Posts: 445 | Thanked: 363 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Italy
#48
Originally Posted by dcaliste View Post
There is an issue with the original code of Męp. It is using a browser user-agent string to identify itself to the tile servers. This is not complying with OSM rules to use their tile servers. So they have blocked us.

I have contacted the OSM tile server contact person and have explained that it is not intentional and comes from the history of Męp. I've changed the user-agent of Męp to be more explicit.

There are other rules that Męp is not complying with, so I'm updating what I can. See the rules:
http://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Tile_usage_policy

Essentially, the copyright mention is missing. I've added it yesterday. I'm going to release a new RPM with corrections today or tomorrow.

Sorry for the inconvenience, I discovered it with you and try to patch it in my spare time !
Hi dcaliste! Thanks for your work.

Maybe you are interested also in porting Osm2Go on Sailfish?

Osm2Go is using maep in his core as tile rendering, so maybe you can help also in this thread about keeping osm2go for maemo alive http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=91545

amdmi3 also discovered the issue with the user agent and the code is on github https://github.com/AMDmi3/osm2go

maybe collaboration can help each other
__________________
Flickr photos taken with N900 https://www.flickr.com/cameras/nokia/n900/
"Closed source software tells you what you can do. With open source, you decide what software can do for you" Richard Stallman
 

The Following User Says Thank You to gianko For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Grenoble, France
#49
Originally Posted by gianko View Post
Maybe you are interested also in porting Osm2Go on Sailfish?
Yes, I know and like OSM2go. I used to use it on my N900. It's very nice and efficient to edit OSM data. Almost all my (tiny) contributions were done with OSM2go.

I would be very interested in having it on my Jolla also, and I may contribute for a Sailfish port, but before doing it, I'm concerned about the touch screen precision of the Jolla compared to the N900 one. In my opinion, OSM2go is nice to use with a stylus (especially to adjust handle positions in a track), the stylus is pixel precise and don't hide what you're doing. On the contrary, with a finger touch screen, it seems to me that it's hard to adjust positions up to pixel precision and usually fingers hide what we're moving. For instance, I've always troubles to place the cursor where I want in a text field to edit a speling mistake.

So I would be eager to port OSM2go to Sailfish, but currently I have no idea how to tackle the "adjust position of your track handles" issue. Maybe someone can correct me if I'm wrong or have a brilliant idea, I would be happy to try to implement it.

Originally Posted by gianko View Post
amdmi3 also discovered the issue with the user agent and the code is on github https://github.com/AMDmi3/osm2go

maybe collaboration can help each other
If we can find a solution for the usability issue on finger touch screens, I'll collaborate with them to have a Sailfish compatible version of OSM2go, yes.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to dcaliste For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 292 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Grenoble, France
#50
Since 1.0.4.20, the GPS refresh period is broken in Męp due to partial library update in this particular version of officialy unsupported QtPositioning library. It will come back in some future Jolla release. See https://lists.sailfishos.org/piperma...ch/003757.html

Sorry for the inconvenience, luckily the GPS chip in the Jolla is not consuming battery too quickly So the fixed 1s period is actually not too bad…
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dcaliste For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:34.