PDA

View Full Version : kismet - no alert sounds and no flite speech

technut
2007-10-29, 09:31
I have kismet installed and working, and flite also is installed and working (tested with a small text file).

My problem is that
1) I'm not getting any alert sounds from kismet. and
2) I'm not sure how to get kismet to use flite to speak.

I gather from the kismet docs (http://www.kismetwireless.net/documentation.shtml) that I need to modify the kismet_ui.conf file (which I found in /etc/kismet), but I'm not sure what mods to make to it.

For alert sounds the .conf currently says:
# Path to sound player
soundplay=/usr/bin/play

Is that correct for maemo (N800)?

And for using flite, the .conf has a section for using Festival/Flite, but again I'm not sure exactly how I should be modifying that section to make it work.

I'm new to the N800 (and to Linux) but I've already gotten pretty far in my first 2 days with it. I'll try to get back to hacking away at it tomorrow, but if anyone already has the answers you'd save me a lot of time.

And is there an easier file editor than "vi" available in a maemo repository somewhere?

Thanks!

gsagers
2007-10-29, 17:13
Good luck with Kismet, as it stops scanning and receiving packets after a fairly short time.

Haven't ever tried it with flite.

As for an easier editor, try nano. It's in the application catalog on maemo.org. I think it's in the maemo-extras repository.

cvmiller
2007-10-30, 00:05
Good luck with Kismet, as it stops scanning and receiving packets after a fairly short time.

What do you mean by a short time? I have run Kismet for probably 20 miniutes or so. After I installed 'screen' (which included the terminfo files for xterm) kismet seems pretty well behaved for me.

Craig...

technut
2007-10-30, 04:07
Thanks for the tip about nano. It wasn't showing in App Manager even though I had the correct repository, but I got it installed with apt-get.