PDA

View Full Version : The Kismet Thread

thoughtfix
2006-02-08, 18:45
Okay ... It's been mentioned several dozen times that we want Kismet. I'm no developer or else I'd attempt a cross compiler myself. Here's a good place to start:

Kismet Project Page: http://www.kismetwireless.net/
Kismet ARM Binaries: http://www.kismetwireless.net/download.shtml
GKismet: http://gkismet.sourceforge.net/
Samuel Ortiz putting it on his TODO: http://maemo.org/pipermail/maemo-developers/2005-November/001909.html

I've heard that the -51 firmware does support monitor mode/RFMON/promiscuous mode but have been unable to confirm that through any third party postings. If it IS in there, isn't a maemo port just a few hours away?

gnuite
2006-02-08, 21:39
Have you tried "installing" the ARM binary that they provide? Just tar zxf the .ipk file and untar the resulting data.tar.gz file into / or /var/lib/install and see if you can run the binary. I've never used kismet, but I've been curious about it since I found out that gpsdrive works with it (although this combo appears to require mysql?).

thoughtfix
2006-02-08, 21:57
gpsd works with it for tracking locations but I don't know if maemo gpsdrive will. That'd be NEAT though... to have it draw dots with hotspot labels :D

Gourmet
2006-02-08, 23:31
Okay ... It's been mentioned several dozen times that we want Kismet. I'm no developer or else I'd attempt a cross compiler myself. Here's a good place to start:

Kismet Project Page: http://www.kismetwireless.net/
Kismet ARM Binaries: http://www.kismetwireless.net/download.shtml
GKismet: http://gkismet.sourceforge.net/
Samuel Ortiz putting it on his TODO: http://maemo.org/pipermail/maemo-developers/2005-November/001909.html

THe ARM binaries should be far enough.
By the way why do you need Kismet ? A simple script using iwlist scan is enough.

db

Samuel
2006-02-08, 23:37

Monitor mode should work fine with 51-* firmwares, at least tcpdump -X output looks ok...

Samuel
2006-02-08, 23:40