PDA

View Full Version : Newbee Handholding OS7->OS8

metroeloise
2007-12-20, 02:11
OK. That's it really. I've looked around and I get bits and pieces of the process just not any "here you go and step by step" to upgrade n800 to OS 08. I got the firmware in its folder on my xp desktop and flasher 3.0 in its folder. I can connect up the n800 to and run the update wizard. When I get to the select from my computer option I hesitate since the firmware flash hasn't happened.

I'm new to lunix and I am looking forward for the education. Have scoped around this site for the month that I have owned the n800 and appreciate the group. Not being a freeloader I will collect information to set up yet another newbee how to. Seems like there can't be too many of them.

Thanks.

YoDude
2007-12-20, 02:27
When I get to the select from my computer option I hesitate since the firmware flash hasn't happened.

What hasn't happened?

When you get to the "the select from my computer option", click "browse", cruise over to where the "RX-34_2008SE_2.2007.50-2_PR_COMBINED_MR0_ARM.bin" file is located on your computer, and rock on. :)

You are using the windows update wizard program, aren't you?

>>http://nds1.nokia.com/files/support/global/phones/software/Nokia_Internet_Tablet_Software_Update_Wizard.exe

metroeloise
2007-12-20, 02:30
Opps. When I was closing out I clicked next and it began the process. Said there was 2 minutes to do it and then stopped. complained of a loss connection so I started the wizard again and again it did it. Also now the n800 won't shut off. I pulled the battery and it won't boot up. In fact when recharging it stays on the nokia screeen, won't shut off when unplugged. What now?

metroeloise
2007-12-20, 02:35