PDA

View Full Version : New Forum Request

Oculog
2007-12-20, 19:04
Hi, I'm an annoying noob. I don't always do exhaustive research before I post a question. I know enough to get in trouble, but not enough to always get out. I often search for information, only to be overwhelmed because I can't always interpret what I find.

The N800 is my favorite computer of all time. I mainly use it for email, browsing, and media playback. As this standard platform, the Nokia rocks. But the Nokia has a darker side: the bleeding edge. If I was an expert (and had time to burn) I'd be hacking away and developing some great apps. I plan on getting involved in application development, specifically with written sign language, but for now the Nokia is for entertainment and communication.

I'm requesting a new forum called "Redundant / Annoying / Handholding". I know some questions have been asked a million times. I'm probably going to ask the question again myself. I don't mind being ignored, but chastised for not doing my homework is getting old.

I've looked at both the FAQ and the video about how to ask questions and not annoy the user community. I know I could find the answer if I spent anywhere from 10 seconds to 10 days. But sometimes I want a simple and direct answer. I'm tired of finding information that almost right but not up to date, or finding information that requires reading 9 pages of a thread.

I don't want to clutter up the main forum pages and I'm willing to put some of my own time answering simple / redundant questions. So can you please add a new forum besides the "newbie" one for me?

Reggie
2007-12-20, 19:07
I suggest you try out the custom Google search first:
http://www.google.com/cse?cx=005981223421171304650%3Awt9tjwf2kd4

It should be quite helpful.

aleksandyr
2008-01-14, 09:54
I was going to post a new thread on this, but I'm glad Oculog broke the ice for me. :)