PDA

View Full Version : My N810 is in the mail

Benz145
2007-12-26, 19:10
Well I just ordered an N810 the other day from Buy.com and I can't wait for it to get here. It should arrive either Thursday or Friday, curse Buy.com for the 1-2 day period that it takes for a product to leave their warehouse! I would have bought from Amazon and avoided that but they were out of stock, anyway...

I'm a complete N series noob, I've never used the OS2008 operating system and have only as much Linux knowledge as it takes to install Ubuntu (approximately none). I'm assume and hoping it is similar to Palm OS in the sense that there will be a big library of free apps to help expand the functionality of the device.

Something I'm specifically concerned about is the GPS software. I've read that the N810 (at least the pre-production units) take quick a while to connect to GPS, and even when you are connected the built in software is sub-par. I've also read that it'd be $130 to purchase a good piece of functioning GPS software! Someone say it aint so!

Another thing I've read is that there isn't any good software for the built in camera yet, is this another problem that's solution is to purchase better software?

Thanks for any information, I'm exciting to be joining everyone here on the site.

wls
2007-12-26, 19:53
I'd be interested in hearing if you actually get it this week. Most people are reporting there are no units available until January. Several online merchants are saying they have it but can't ship for several weeks.
Let us know if you get it or get delayed. I had to cancel my order with buy.com after waiting several weeks in "processing"

Benz145
2007-12-26, 19:57
Uh oh now you are scaring me! Well my order says "shipped" on Buy.com's page so I hope its not lying to me. Though I'm a bit afraid because I haven't been able to pull up tracking information yet...