PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on what to purchase, coder who needs functionality now.

timotheus
2007-12-26, 20:29
Hello, everyone. I've been looking into the N800 for over a week, and I'm pretty sure this is something I want to have. What is causing me problems is what SD card to order with it. Let me tell you what I'm going to use it for, and tell me what you'd recommend.

I'm going to use my N800 as an internet tablet, but also as a laptop alternative. I do PHP coding for a living. I want a text editor with syntax highlighting capability (vim looks good for this), Jabber support (built in, so it seems), FTP program (doesn't need to support SFTP), ebook reader, simple notepad app. I don't need mp3 player or awesome video support, I have a Zen for that.

Apache and PHP running on the device would be nice, but I'd be happy being able to just FTP to my server.

I know the N800 supports SDHC cards up to 8GB, but is that only on OS2008? Obviously, OS2007 has a lot more applications ready for it, but if it only sees a max 2GB size SD card, that is what I'll get.

Many thanks in advance.

akd
2007-12-26, 20:35
Hi! Latest OS2007 release already supports larger SD cards, so don't worry about if you should use your N800 with ITOS2007. :)

Moonshine
2007-12-26, 20:48
AKD is correct, either will support larger SDHC cards (to 16GB currently I believe). I have two 8GB in my N800.

Personally, given your list, I'd run OS2008 though.

timotheus
2007-12-26, 20:51
Thanks akd and Moonshine for the fast responses..

Moonshine: what would you recommend to use as an FTP app then on OS2008?

Moonshine
2007-12-26, 21:08
I don't FTP much on my tablet, but when I do I use ncftp which you can get from the elkins.org repository.

Usually I'm making changes to a variety of files within a collection though, so I mainly use rsync or subversion to keep things up to date. If I'm just moving a couple files here and there, then I use sftp which is part of the ssh package.