PDA

View Full Version : Which sdhd card and which reader

johjohjus
2008-01-17, 21:28
I am a newbie and just got a n800. I wanted to get a couple of sdhd 8g cards but have no idea which one to choose. Also i need a reader for it and again have no idea which to choose. Hoping someone on here can help.

drizek
2008-01-17, 21:33
Get one 16GB card instead it. It will end up costing the same.

8GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211180 (I have this one, it works just fine)
16GB http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211245
16 + reader http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820208377

I don't use a reader though, I just copy over files over the network wirelessly.

superstar
2008-01-17, 21:34
Kingston, Transced, A-data, check newegg or buy.com, I like newegg's shipping process, their 3 days shipping always get it the next day...
I don't think you need a card reader, I just plug my N800 with the included USB cables to my pc and you are ready to go.

johjohjus
2008-01-17, 21:47

Will the 16gb work as well as the 8? I have read some negatives about the higher capacity cards?

dont
2008-01-17, 22:23
I don't use a reader though, I just copy over files over the network wirelessly.

FWIW. I timed file copies to my 8GB Kingston class 4 at roughly 2x faster when in a Sandisk ImageMate 5-in-1 reader vs. in my N800.

krisse
2008-01-17, 22:33

Will the 16gb work as well as the 8? I have read some negatives about the higher capacity cards?

Nokia's official line is that they've only tested it with 8, so they can only guarantee performance with 8.

However, the unofficial line from people on here is that 16 does work fine, but that's unofficial so there's no guarantee.

drizek
2008-01-17, 22:42
FWIW. I timed file copies to my 8GB Kingston class 4 at roughly 2x faster when in a Sandisk ImageMate 5-in-1 reader vs. in my N800.