PDA

View Full Version : Text2Speech for the N800

tj110158
2008-01-19, 04:26
Hey Everyone
I am new to Linux (Maemo) and know nothing, and I've been searching for a Text2Speech program for my N800. I found a program that works with Linux and was wondering if I can install it on the N800. If someone would kindly take a look and tell me if its possible I would surely be greatful.

http://www.nch.com.au/verbose/index.html

Thanks in advance for any and all the help you may provide me in this matter.

baksiidaa
2008-01-19, 05:52
There's already a text-to-speech program that works on the N800. It's called flite, and it's in the maemo Extras repository.

Kathy
2008-01-19, 15:26
I installed flite but can not find it to try it out. How does it work ?

luca
2008-01-19, 20:37
open a terminal and type

flite "hello world"

to know all the options

flite --help

tj110158
2008-01-19, 21:53
People, the program that I'm looking for will read any highlighted text I choose, not text from a prompt. It will read "webpages, ebooks, proof read letters I type, things like that." I know its out there somewhere because Windows and Mac have them. The real question I had is "Can I use any Linux Program on the Nokia N800" or does it have to be made for Maemo?

johnsto
2008-01-19, 22:34
People, the program that I'm looking for will read any highlighted text I choose, not text from a prompt. It will read "webpages, ebooks, proof read letters I type, things like that." I know its out there somewhere because Windows and Mac have them.

I haven't seen any myself I'm afraid.

The real question I had is "Can I use any Linux Program on the Nokia N800" or does it have to be made for Maemo?

The simple answer: It has to be made for Maemo.

The accurate answer: It depends on the nature of program. Usually the more complex it is, the less easy it is to port to the Maemo platform.

brendan
2008-01-19, 22:37
@tj110158