PDA

View Full Version : Considering buying N800

n800maybe
2008-02-02, 00:18
Hi, I'm new to the apparently wonderful world of internet tablets.
I'm considering buying a N800, especially because it packs a lot of features for the price.

However, a few questions remain:

Non technical:

- Have you ever had any problem with the device ? Most particularly with the touchscreen (digitizer drift) ?

- What is the quality of Nokia's support if run into troubles ?
- What is the warranty ?
- Is the microphone of good quality (ex: like a cheap computer microphone) ? Also, is it integrated within the device, or external (something to plug in) ? Can you use an external microphone with it (ex: like a cheap computer microphone) ?

- What is the overall solidity of the device ?
- Is the webcam of good quality (for an integrated webcam) ?

Technical:

- Is there any SNES emulator for the N800 ? If yes, I would like to know the performances you get (rpg, no sound, no graphic smoothing)

- Is video playback performance good ? What resolution and fps do you use, and which bitrate too ? Does using mplayer embedded in MediaBox slows it down ?

- Is it possible to install and use unhildonized applications on the N800 ?

- I know Angstrom works on the tablet. However, does the touchscreen works (any of you that tested it) ?

- Is there any possibility to recompile the linux kernel yourself, and if yes, please include a link to the howto (or whatever they call it) ?

- Is host USB and USB ethernet support reliable, or crashing ?

- Also, what Bluetooth keyboards will work (just include yours if you don't know, I'll sort them by myself)

- Is there any chance to get PowerVR 3D drivers (open source hope there), in middle-term (a year or two) ?

Thanks in advance for answering this pretty big pack of questions. I must convince my parents, so the more the better :) !

Sincerely yours, n800maybe

GeraldKo
2008-02-02, 01:41