PDA

View Full Version : Laptop -> N800 Internet access

barqer
2008-02-12, 21:14
Ive done abit of reading and searching here to see if I could find an answer to this. I have my laptop at school and my N800. I am only allowed to connect to the Wi-fi with one username while doing work. Is there anyway (via bluetooth probably) to allow the N800 to share the internet connection from my laptop (that also has bluetooth).

Thanks

sjgadsby
2008-02-12, 21:27
Is there anyway (via bluetooth probably) to allow the N800 to share the internet connection from my laptop (that also has bluetooth).

Yes, there have been previous discussions of this. This thread (http://www.internettablettalk.com/forums/showthread.php?p=132999#post132999) appears to have an solution to your request.

brecklundin
2008-02-12, 21:30
d'oh...never mind...oops!

barqer
2008-02-12, 22:06
well, thats one hell of a solution. I was hoping it was abit less involved than that. While I am familiar with linux, I am still learning and am not quite that knowledgeable yet. Soon though I suppose, soon.

bg4
2008-04-09, 17:57
Forget that solution - much easier way but you will need a second wifi client - a PCMCIA card will do nicely and is not that expensive.

It involves sharing you first wifi connection thru the second wifi connection. I will post more soon. First you will need a 2nd wifi connection - forget bluetooth in this situation. Actually although I';ve never tried it I guess a bluetooth adaptor connected to the laptop could replace the second wifi adaptor but again I've never tested this.

search something like hotel sharing in ITT. I posted it somewhere.

IcelandDreams
2008-04-09, 18:53