PDA

View Full Version : What is a repository? and other noobness

braveally
2008-02-13, 21:32
I'm anxiously awaiting the delivery of my N810. I got it from CompUPlus.com for $398. Anyway, I've been looking through trying to assimilate as much information as possible. One thing I don't understand is installing programs and what the Repository is for. i see on maemo.org and other sites have an "install now" button, but i'm also hearing that you need repositories for some programs or they won't install/work. Can someone help me understand what these are for? Is it like drivers for windows or something? What purpose do they serve? Obviously i'm new to linux and plan on getting comfortable through this little device. I just don't want to brick it being too curious (long history of bricked devices while trying to push the limits). Thanks!

traveller604
2008-02-13, 21:35
Think of them as FTP servers that have lots of programs that you can install to your device. Only there are no .exe files but instead after you add the url of that ftp server to your application manager you can install the software you're looking for thru it.

GeraldKo
2008-02-13, 21:37
Well, you'll find the repositories here: http://www.gronmayer.com/it/index.php?lang=en&system=maemo4

You check off and add the ones you want. Then you can install any of the files/programs contained in them through the App Mgr. Once you have your 810 this will make more sense.

jussik
2008-02-13, 22:01
One thing I don't understand is installing programs and what the Repository is for.

The answers you have gotten don't really give the repository system the credit it needs, IMO. A repository alone may be a glorified FTP server, but combined with other elements of package handling it's way more. In my opinion package handling is one area where linux is far ahead the more popular OSes -- this is also why many people do not understand it: they're used to an inferior system...