PDA

View Full Version : [Canola] Internet Radio Catalogue Possible?

Alpha4
2008-04-07, 11:18
Is it possible to provide a catalogue of internet radio stations in the Canola Internet Radio app? The default N800 (OS2008) Media Player has an embedded list that you just click to play.

Everytime I try to type a link in Canola it just says 'No feed' or something, so I've given up and gone back Media Player. Does this mean that I have to know and type in a feed link to *EVERY* single, individual internet radio station I want to listen to in Canola? If so it's going to get very time consuming and I wont be listening to any new radio stations just on whim or impulse (I've got to know about 'em to listen to 'em!)

I like Canola better than Media PLayer, but it's got to be easy to use.

sachin007
2008-04-07, 11:23
You have to add the extension .pls to the internet radio url for canola to find the feed.

Alpha4
2008-04-07, 11:30
Sorry I'm new to the N800 and to typing in precise Internet Radio Sation urls.

Do you mean www.shoutcast.com.pls will pick up all the station feeds on the website and import them into Canola?

Or do you mean I have to add .pls to the direct url for a single live radio feed (example: www.myradiostation.com/radio.htm.pls)?

And could you give a precise example please? Thank you.

sachin007
2008-04-07, 11:46
SOrry for not being precise.
Okay lets say you go to shoutcast.com and select a specific radio station. When you click tune in...... an external media player should open on your computer and the internet station plays in that media player be it winamp, wmp or any other player. Now go to the media player and look for the file url which should be in numbers mostly.
Like http://205.188.215.230:8024/
Now to listen to that specific station in canola... you have to enter http://205.188.215.230:8024/.pls