PDA

View Full Version : [Canola] Canola, Mplayer and A2DP

nilchak
2008-06-13, 03:00
Following the A2DP thread , I installed A2DP deb file and also installed mplayer.

When playing thru mplayer with a2DB hanck enabled, I get stero music output thru my Bluetooth headphones.

So I uninstalled Canola totally (thy Canola cleanup, rebooted and reinstalled Canola, thinking now Canola will use mplayer as the player, and hence I should get stereo sound from Canola using mplayer.

But that is not happening.
How do I set Canola to use mplayer as the outputting player ? Are there any config files where we can change setting to enable maplyer to be used by Canola ?

Is this method going to help in enabling A2DB thru Canola ?

Any help, any pointers ... ?

handful
2008-06-13, 09:22
nil : yes! do a search for atabake , atabake conf this is the file, then change the audio from OMS to Mplayer :)

Marcelo

Bill Malo
2008-06-13, 15:14
I am new to this but would like to know more. Where is the atabake file located? On the Nokia N800?
I am trying to tell Canola2 to use my Linn DS as the renderer but have not been able to do so yet. What am I missing?
Thanks.

handful
2008-06-15, 03:55
Bill: unfortunately the upnp support is quite new, so we don't have controller (send to another renderer) support... for now you need to use mediastremer if you want that on the maemo platform.

For the atabake : yes. you need to
Go to home/user/.atabake, edit config and change from oms to mplayer

We did a lot of improvements on a2dp on the bluetooth stack it will probably be on the next firmware :)))) it will REALLY improve the cpu usage when using a2dp!

Marcelo

nilchak
2008-06-15, 18:05
We did a lot of improvements on a2dp on the bluetooth stack it will probably be on the next firmware :)))) it will REALLY improve the cpu usage when using a2dp!
Marcelo

Wow ! A Handful of good news ! :D

The Canola team is indeed wonderful - this one team keeps giving all the good news on the IT front ...