PDA

View Full Version : Is Freemantle dead before it's out of the gates?

silvermountain
2009-07-30, 21:13
So I was listening to the latest episode of The Linux Actionshow podcast today (Season 10, episode 9 (http://www.jupiterbroadcasting.com/?p=928)) and even though I am far from a Linux expert I found the following interesting e I want to see if I was even close to understand what was said :)

Based on their discussion, about the NITs, they said that Freemantle is the operating layer of the next NIT - but after that it will not be continued as after that Nokia is continuing with QT.

Does that mean that Freemantle in essence is being developed to run on N900 - and that's it?

timoph
2009-07-30, 21:27
to my understanding the underlaying libraries won't be changed, so I wouldn't call it DOA.

silvermountain
2009-07-30, 21:33
to my understanding the underlaying libraries won't be changed, so I wouldn't call it DOA.

I think you're right but my understanding is that...uh..correct me if I'm wrong..is that Freemantle is not really an OS in the traditional sense but rather a presentation-layer running ontop of GTK developed apps.

What I gathered from listening to the show is that N900 is the only device that will use this presentation-layer (in much lack of a better word) and that Nokia is moving to QT and a different presentation layer.

I do believe though, to make things even more complicated [for me] that items developed in GTK or QT will still run on the later devices and 'all' that is different is that Freemantle will not be there.

Am I kinda-sorta understanding it correctly?

Note: This is from someone who two months ago thought that Linux was the name of a Penguin.

danramos
2009-07-30, 21:41
Good thing so many things will be fixed in Fremantle.

silvermountain
2009-07-30, 21:46
Good thing so many things will be fixed in Fremantle.

Drink!

[message to short]

qgil
2009-07-30, 22:10
Thanks for the pointer!