PDA

View Full Version : N900 and iTunes album covers

fringant
2009-09-28, 09:07
hi everyone,

I'm really excited by the N900 but one thing makes me doubt about the purchase : the iTunes covers.

having an account on the itunes store I have all the covers of my albums (50 gb of legal music) and if Maemo 5 doesn't generate them I won't buy the device.

Is there a way of knowing this before the release ?!

Soulfarmer
2009-09-28, 09:16
I guess N900 doesn't interact with your itunes account at all so I also guess no covers either. I am no expert so don't count on my answer solely.

ragnar
2009-09-28, 09:20
No, we're not Apple, so unfortunately we cannot log into your iTunes account.

Perhaps you could ask Apple to open up iTunes so that you wouldn't be locked down to only Apple products.

fringant
2009-09-28, 09:23
I've not expressed myself correctly :/

my covers are on Itunes even when i'm not connected to my account or even to the internet.

I've just got them with the account.

bbin
2009-09-28, 09:23
Maemo's player show's the album art from id3 tag. Itunes doesn't copy the album art automatically to the id3 tag.

You have to use an program like CoverScout to copy those images to the id3 tag or do it manually :) I did with coverscout for my 120gb collection and it wasn't difficult at all.

I don't get it, why the itunes doesn't copy all those images automatically to the id3 tag. All other than apple devices are using the id3 tag image album art.

ysss
2009-09-28, 10:07
@bbin: wtg dude :)
(thanks) For being helpful and descriptive without being condescending.

thp
2009-09-28, 10:09
I don't know if this covers your requirements, but there's also an open source project by Ivan Frade that seems to allow cover downloading on-device, according to its description:

https://garage.maemo.org/projects/mussorgsky/