PDA

View Full Version : 3G videocall

sinetype
2009-10-02, 11:24
Hi, i'm new here and i already ordered my N900.

I don't know if it's any help but i asked Nokia if the N900 will be able to make videocall using 3G. The answered i got was that Yes, the mobile is equipped for that (with the front camera) but it only depends on the network settings.

I'm just writing it because i saw a lot of forums saying it would be impossible. Actually, on the product page (on nokia.com) the N900 has listed "videocall: soon to be announced"

I also have another question. I'm new to this Linux world and i would like to know if it's possible for someone to create an editing software for maemo (like a mini final cut)? I think that would be really interessting.

DeeGee
2009-10-02, 12:48
I don't think any of our Maemo guys have commented on that (not that anyone has asked), but I'd imagine that means that they couldn't get the video call feature made in time and are planning on releasing it later.

I think converting already present Linux video authoring programs like Avidemux (http://fixounet.free.fr/avidemux/) should be possible.

sinetype
2009-10-02, 14:16
Thank you for your answer DeeGee.

Actually i was thinking about avidemux (great software). That would be a nice piece running on the N900.

nilchak
2009-10-02, 14:46
Just to add some perspective (old) , the older tablets N810 could do video call (using Gizmo or using the built in Gtalk to another tablet with Gtalk) over 3G.

Of course you did need a very good and fast connection (I had 3.5G speeds) and sometimes it was a bit spotty - but you could do it.

Dont know the specifics for the N900 though as yet.

ralphb
2009-10-02, 14:53
I don't know if it's any help but i asked Nokia if the N900 will be able to make videocall using 3G. The answered i got was that Yes, the mobile is equipped for that (with the front camera) but it only depends on the network settings.