View Full Version : I have one - but what is it?

kierencurry
2010-01-22, 11:37
Hi all,

I am new so Hi and love the community!

I have bought the N900 however I have a question that I am hoping someone can simplify for a fool like me. I bought the N900 for its browsing capability and I am happy with that so please don't pull me down for asking this question - but what is the N900 supposed to be?

It is a great device for the net - that is why i bought it however reading all of the threads in here that I have, I am confused as to what I have actually bought!!! The phone is (by phone standards) pretty inaccessible to use compared to other mobiles. I am not a developer so I sit and wait for the fab people on here to develop my needs for me (thanks) but today I have read it is/is not a mere step to Maemo 6. It will/will not be given official Nokia apps, is/is not going to have the same number of apps as the i-phone (yes I know, a saddo that has to rely on apps). I was expecting a full SatNav to be released imminently and it is/is not going to happen.......

All that aside, I love it but the lack of a clear message from Nokia and the speculation in the threads has me mighty confused......

Thanks to anyone who can give me a clear train of thought for me to cling onto!!!!

All the very best
K

Crashdamage
2010-01-22, 11:57
It is what it is to the person using it. Customize it to your needs.
For me it's a pocket linux computer that makes phone calls.

That said, I use it for about 15-20 calls a day or about 2000 min/mo and it works very well as a phone for me, at least as well as the G1 it replaced. If you use VOIP like Skype, it might be the best thing on the market.

To me the message from Nokia is that as Maemo matures and grows it is - or soon will be - versatile and powerful enough to allow the device to be almost anything you need/want it to be. I like that message.

ossipena
2010-01-22, 12:00