PDA

View Full Version : What is the success rate for "Brainstorms"

craftyguy
2010-02-09, 23:23
I'm very new to maemo.org and the whole 'brainstorm' process here. After spending the last few weeks seeing features I would like up for consideration in the brainstorm section (and proposing new solutions/voting), and the lack of progress towards implementing any of the solutions, it leads me to wonder how many of the brainstorms out there actually get implemented, and what the average amount of time from brainstorm conception to feature implementation is?

It seems like an absolutely great idea, but I'm not convinced that it actually accomplishes anything? I definitely hope that it does!

slender
2010-02-09, 23:39
I'm very new to maemo.org and the whole 'brainstorm' process here. After spending the last few weeks seeing features I would like up for consideration in the brainstorm section (and proposing new solutions/voting), and the lack of progress towards implementing any of the solutions, it leads me to wonder how many of the brainstorms out there actually get implemented, and what the average amount of time from brainstorm conception to feature implementation is?

It seems like an absolutely great idea, but I'm not convinced that it actually accomplishes anything? I definitely hope that it does!
This was first thing that I also thought when I looked brainstorms. First you get exited but then you start thinking that is this again some let's sign kumbaya and hold hands and enjoy each others company.

You can search brainstorm by their status from brainstorm pages. Look on right side of page.

Some of my posts concerning this:
http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=489618&postcount=96
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=469228#post469228

jaem
2010-02-09, 23:49
I can't speak to the actual theoretical usefulness of maemo.org's Brainstorm implementation, but there are a few things I can say.
1) Coding is a heck of a lot more work than most people would think