PDA

View Full Version : help with making a script

felbutss
2010-03-04, 20:57
hey guys i did a search before posting but havent been able to find anything.

well i have this bug https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8723
every day i have to run the following command in xterminal to stop my n900 from not responding

sudo gainroot
killall hildon-desktop
killall hildon-home

im wondering how i can make it into a simple script and have a shortcut on the desktop?????

sorry. any help would be good im still learning and love it :)

daperl
2010-03-04, 21:48
Whoa, that sucks.

Yes, I should be able to help, but you caught me at the worst possible time. If no one helps you within the next 24 hours I should be able to cook something up for you by then. In the meantime, here's a link that show an exec of a command line call (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=367773) and here's (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=42499) a very simple example of a desktop (home) applet. You need to add a widget that will signal your command line calls. Also, you probably need to open up your /etc/sudoers to allow "user" some more power.

Good luck!

felbutss
2010-03-04, 22:59
hey. im still a little confused. im a pro with microsoft but still learning linux

i need something like a bat/shell file. i want to be able to install it then add a shortcut to the desktop.

can someone make it for me please? i also want to see how you did it and what i do next. still learning

any help??

felbutss
2010-03-05, 01:48
anyone? is it that hard? :S

daperl
2010-03-05, 17:30
Copy and paste the following into a file called:

/home/user/killerapp.sh

#! /bin/sh

/usr/bin/sudo /usr/sbin/gainroot
/usr/bin/killall hildon-desktop
/usr/bin/killall hildon-home

Then, from a terminal, run the command:

chmod 777 /home/user/killerapp.sh

As root, copy and paste the following into a file called:

/usr/share/applications/hildon/killerapp.desktop

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=App Killer